The caterpillar (Life realization)

1 11
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Yesterday, my 1-year old nephew was shouting while pointing at our periwinkle plants. I quickly approached him because he looks so scared and to my surprise there were 3 caterpillars enjoying the leaves of our periwinkle plants. I first saw this kind when a virtual friend posted it in his two social media accounts. They really looked cool with their almost luminous green-blue eyes and at the same time creepy because they are quite chubby.

When I was younger I remember that I would always took them away from the leaves because I think they kill the plants and that they do no good. Not really thinking that they will turn into a beautiful butterfly. But of course that mindset has changed when I learned from school the importance of butterfly in the ecosystem.

I found two other smaller caterpillars munching my giant pothos plants and I have to say sorry to these two and transfered them to a healthy looking periwinkle plants. I was so torn because as much as I want them to enjoy being there but they are eating those leaves like there's no tomorrow! I was trying to search them this morning and I am thankful that they are still hanging in the plant where I placed them. And they are almost of the same size as the caterpillars that we saw yesterday.

I am telling and narrating all these because I felt guilty for being selfish to these lovely creatures. I think that they don't deserve what I did to them. That these plants are just entrusted under my care but I too was selfish to share them, they are the rightful creatures to use these leaves because these will help them grow them healthy and beautifully.

In our lives we are brought in a situation wherein we are given a lot of options but we ended up choosing the wrongs ones. We ended up crying, hurt and then regret But I think that's also the beauty of life, it gives us detour to appreciate it even more. To help us see what is more necessary and best not just for ourselves but to everyone around us.

The lesson I learned today is just ordinary to some but it taught me that being selfish should not only be limited to the people close to us but also to every living creatures around us. They have their own purpose in life too and we should not be the reason why they could not develop well.

...^•°...

Thanks for reading.

Keep inspiring. Keep smiling

XOXO,

bbghitte

1
$ 0.33
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbghitte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Comments

nice picture tho, I remember when I was a child my sister and I were catching caterpillars together then watch it crawling into leaves

$ 0.00
3 years ago