Back to school!

0 8
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

And so today, our school or shall I say homeschool is officially back! I am the teacher and my students are my daughter and her batchmate/friend/neighbor who happens to just living across our house. His parents are abroad and their grandma could no longer handle him as she is more focused on the older brother. So they asked me if Eze could join our class and so I said yes.

It has been one (1) month since the first quarter ended and we just resumed our class today because of the ever-extending quarantine here in our place. The modules were secretly delivered to each houses just to avoid any more issues with the local council. Last night my daughter even teased me that I might already forgot how to teach kids because right after their exams for the 1st quarter our regular routine was more on arts and crafts and planting.

Our 1st lesson was about family; mother, father and baby. But I am not comfortable with the module because it does not specifically discuss about the importance of family but more on how it was formed; from courting to marriage to being pregnant then finally the baby is born. I felt uneasy teaching the kids about courtship at a very young age of 5; a kindergarten. I wonder who approved this kind of module, for me it's not appropriate for their age yet.

Anyway, moving forward, part of the activity was to draw their own family portrait inside the house. And my ever talented daughter draw this one.

Any guess why do each one wears a crown? Well, here is our convo:

Mommy: Why do we wear crown Yuri?

Yuri: Mommy, it's because we joined a contest and won the 1st prize that's why we have crown!

Mommy: Oh, okay😁

My daughter always surprises me with her cute and witty imagination and explanations. I think me and my siblings were never like that when we were at that age.

Her classmate Eze also made one but I was the one who draw it and he just finished it by coloring each member. He is not as active and talkative as my daughter and quite a challenge teaching him. Anyway, it's part of the challenge and I am glad that his parents trusted me to teach him. And I am happy that when my mother accompanied him home earlier, Eze was excited to show his grandma of his drawings and even told them what he learned today.

This new normal is really something that everyone never imagined to happen. My teacher journey never entered my mind ever. I am teaching my own baby but those are just minor or lessons. But it's a mixture of fun, excitement, challenge and a bit of frustration. You have to make sure that the kids will listen, they will learn something and that they will not be bored throughout the class. And I am learning from them too so it's a win-win situation.

...^•°...

That's all for now and thank you for dropping by. Wish me luck!!

Keep inspiring. Keep smiling.

All images are mine.
#originalcontent #readcash

1
$ 0.52
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of bbghitte
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for bbghitte
3 years ago

Comments