I Started A Presearch Node 1 Week Ago. Here's How It's Going.

4 82
Avatar for barevcrypto
2 years ago

Last week, I finally decided to launch my own Presearch node. For those of you who don't know what Presearch is, it is basically a decentralized search engine and Google search alternative that rewards you with PRE cryptocurrency tokens for doing searches. While this article is not going to go into the details of what Presearch is, you can read more on their website: https://www.presearch.io/

The way the Presearch handles decentralization is by allowing any user to set up a node that will help support the network to perform decentralized searches. The only requirements to starting a node are to create a Presearch account, choose where you will run your node (on your own computer, or on a virtual server), install Docker, register your node, and run the node start commands. These instructions can be found on the official Presearch node website (https://nodes.presearch.org/run). Node Ninja also has an excellent guide and FAQ on running a Presearch node, which I would recommend checking out if you have questions on how to get started (https://nodeninja.org/knowledge-base/pre/pre-setup/do-you-need-a-vm-hosting-provider/).

You might be asking why somebody would choose to run a node. And, the answer for me is twofold: first, I really like the project and want to support it, and second, you are rewarded with PRE tokens for running the node (as long as you stake 1000 PRE on the node). Luckily, I have earned over 1000 PRE just from using Presearch over the last year, so I didn't need to buy any PRE tokens with fiat.

You might now be asking yourself, is this a great opportunity to earn easy crypto? Well, probably not very much. Right now, I have two months free for my Digital Ocean VPS. After that, I will be paying $6 a month for the VPS server. To see if this will be a good monetary investment, let's look at my Presearch node stats after the first week.

As you can see below, I have earned 4.2602 PRE over the first week.

At the current rate of $0.298966 for each PRE, that means I have made roughly $1.27. If we assume the amount of PRE earned stays the same, and use the same value of PRE, and estimate 4 weeks in a month, the total monthly earnings are approximately $1.27*4= $5.08. At $6 a month for my server, that will actually end up being about a $1 monthly loss. There are cheaper server options out there, and I may end up switching servers after my two free months to see if I can at least come out even.

There are also some other interesting statistics to look at aside from earnings. As you can see below, 64 searches have already been run through my node. While this may not seem like much, it feels really cool to have set something up that is actually being utilized by other Presearch users. Personally, this almost entirely makes up for the very low ROI.

Finally, you can also see below what my server uptime has been. Presearch has made 8 separate connections to my node (this is because the node occasionally becomes disconnected), and has been up 88% of the time since being launched 1 week ago. While it would be great to see that 88% uptime increase even more, I am quite happy with it so far.

After 1 week, I am happy with my experiment in running a Presearch node and will continue to monitor its success. I will try to keep track of all of the stats and post updates appropriately. My plan is to post monthly progress reports with updated statistics and information.

I would love to hear from any of you who are using Presearch or who have set up a Presearch node yourself.

Thanks for reading and have a wonderful weekend!

5
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @NakamotoBch
Sponsors of barevcrypto
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for barevcrypto
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks - that was an interesting read! Do the number of searches and server uptime affect your PRE earnings? I wonder if there is any way to increase usage of your node? It might be worth exploring that avenue rather than cutting server costs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't find exactly how they calculate rewards, except that they say it is a combination of utilization percentage, and the amount of PRE staked on the node. Their announcement with more details is here: https://presearch.medium.com/presearch-node-rewards-are-here-a425508df095

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know you'd like to hear from us too who Know nothing about Presearch 🤗..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, thank you for reading! Even if you have no plans on running your own Presearch node, you can make some PRE by replacing Google with Presearch. The search results are still great, and you can get a small amount of compensation for using it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago