Wish

4 17
Avatar for baoxian23
1 year ago

"You are useless," the kid said with an impede tone. She crossed her arms over her chest giving the little creature in front of her a scowled look. "And I thought fairies are cute but you're one ugly little thing! Ugh!" she waved her hand dismissing the creature.

The fairy's skin shifted from its original color of blue to red. She fisted both of her hands and gritted her teeth. She inhaled and exhaled repeatedly calming herself. The stories retold by elders weren't true, there was nothing angelic about a child. If there would be a word to describe her it would be, "Brat," the word slipped out of her tongue and she was proud of it.

The kid stomped her feet. "And what did you call me? You little--"

The fairy muted the kid's rampant words. She groaned inwardly, if not for her cousin she wouldn't be trapped in that tree branch. And the stupid brat wouldn't have seen her. But she mustn't wallow in such things, what she need to do was to think of a way out of the mess she stumbled in. "Com'on there must be something you want to have! A new toy? A place you want to go to? Anything?"

"What could I possibly wish for?" The kid spread her arms about the massive mansion at her back. "I could get any toy I want in a snap of my finger. I could get into any place I want. There's nothing I could wish for. So you're useless!"

The kid was about to turn her back when the fairy yelled, "wait!" Think. Think, she must think! If she couldn't grant her a wish she wouldn't be able to go back home and be tied with her forever. "You could also wish for a non-material thing. How about love? I bet you crave your parents' love? Having this huge house means they are not always by your side, right?"

"Love?"

"Yes. Love. I could make your parents love you more. They'll spend more time with you!" The fairy was almost begging the girl to make her wish.

"Nah. If my parents stay here then I wouldn't be able to have all of these." Once again she spread her arms to make emphasis. "But I guess there's something, I could wish for."

"Really?" The fairy was bouncing with joy. Finally! She wouldn't be trapped with the heartless kid. "Then what is your wish?"

A scream woke up the occupants of Redwood Manor.

Stella was having a good dream when her nurse made an entrance into her room. "Come quick, young lady! Your parents! Your--" she couldn't finish her words and proceeded into crying.

Being her curios self Stella bounced to her feet and followed her nurse down to the receiving hall. There was a big commotion with the attendants. Only when she faked a cough that they became aware of her presence.

"What is it?" she asked yet no one dared to speak a word. Instead, everyone parted to give way to the big screen over the wall. There were images of her mom and dad and below their faces were flashing red letters telling about the accident that happened.

"No!" Stella cried. "Mommy! Daddy!" she continued crying but what no one have seen was the smile underneath her tears.

It was her wish after all.

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @HermaniGinger
Sponsors of baoxian23
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for baoxian23
1 year ago

Comments

There is good discussion about kid and Fairy. Kid did a wonderful job for showing his own wish rather he accepted what the fairy wanted. No doubt it was dream but it was full of interesting story leading towards wish. I want to be that kid hahah.. I am kidding actually we respect wish and desires of people especially linked to their parents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice story with a surprising twist in the end. But how can a kid wish for her parents' demise?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you...

And I always let my readers decide the why... But for me it's because she only care for money and she wanted all the money to herself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sigh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago