The Question

0 14
Avatar for baoxian23
1 year ago

"I have a question for you." A sultry voice of a girl echoed in my right ear as an arm enveloped my waist.

I turned my head to meet the most beautiful smile I have ever seen in the entire world. My heart melted in an instant. "What is it darling? You know I'd do anything for you." I kissed her, pulling her closer to me. Inhaling her sweet scent.

"Silly man, of course I know that but I won't ask for anything. It's just a question I want you to answer." She put both of her hands on each of my cheeks. "Just answer my question, okay?"

I nodded my yes. "Anything for you my love."

"Well, let's say--" she stopped and cleared her throat. I could sense her uncertainty but I let it slide. I don't have a single idea about her mysterious question. However, I stayed calm. Whatever it is, it wont change the fact that I love her.

"Just ask love. You're making me jittery with all the anticipation," I said chuckling taking her hands down.

The ball in her neck bobbed as bead of sweat formed in her forehead and her hands felt clammy. "Okay. Okay. Okay--" she kept repeating her eyes cast down on our feet. "Well, what if I die tomorrow? What if--"

"What are you rambling about?" I interjected, stopping her nonsense. What kind of question is that anyway?

"No. No. Just listen. You promised to answer it. And I am not finish yet. Let me have your answer please."

"Fine." I turned facing away from her.

"What if I die tomorrow?" She stopped again waiting for my reaction. When I said nothing, only then she continues. "What if I die tomorrow? Will you marry again?"

I balled my hands. How could she ask those things to me? "Why--" I stopped myself. "I won't. And why would you even die tomorrow?"

"Why? I want you to marry. I want you to find new happiness. I want you to find someone worth loving. Because my love, you deserve to be love." A single tear rolled down her face as a sad smile curved on her lips.

"Bit how do you expect me to find someone worthy when I have you here? You are my love. You're the only one I will love."

I don't like what I'm seeing and I don't want to know the reason behind her question. I don't want to hear the next words that will be coming out of her mouth. No! NO!

"But I am dying. The cancer--"

"Are you okay? Hey, are you okay? Hon?"

I blinked twice or maybe even more. I pulled away from the memory. I diverted my focus on the woman tugging in my arm. "Yeah I am all good. Don't worry about me, okay?" I smiled at her and turned my gaze to the man in front of us.

"Now, are you ready?" I nodded my yes. The man sighed, "well, do you take this woman as your wedded wife to have and to hold from this day forward, for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish, till death do you part, according to God's holy ordinance; and thereto you pledge thee your faith?"

I couldn't make my lips move. There was this tiny portion of my heart that kept saying I cannot, that I would be betraying her. But I know this is what she would have wanted. I found the woman whom worthy of my love. Whom she would have loved too.

"I do father. I do."

Author's Note: I don't know if I conveyed the right emotions because I'm also devastated today. My cat died and my heart is broken to prices right now. Thank you if you're reading this.

1
$ 1.00
$ 1.00 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of baoxian23
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for baoxian23
1 year ago

Comments