Reality. Prologue

2 28
Avatar for baoxian23
1 year ago

Author's Note: yes I am back from my rest. Lol. But I'm currently working on a novel so it would be sparse. I wanted to publish here the sample chapters that I would give my editor. Mind well that these chapters are not edited yet and will still undergo skillful eyes. I only scanned them for typos. So yeah please bear with it.

Anyway this is the prologue. It's still vague but you'd see as the story progress. I would love to hear your thoughts tho! Thank you

Prologue

My eyes focused on the dark numbers of the clock hanging above the door. Specifically, that bold number six. It was ten more minutes till my session would be over and I get to forget the 

 terrible experience once again. But time somehow stretched for eternity and the darn ten minutes seemed a lot longer than the usual.

I counted silently in my head every second yet my counting was dire faster than the little hands of the clock. I was growing frustrated with every tik-tok the clock does.

I calmed myself and shifted to telekinetically moving the little hand without any success.

If it was possible I would have gladly stood and moved the little hand with my own. However, I was trapped.

"Thalia, are you with me?"

I moved my eyes to the man sitting in front of me. He was the same age as my uncle Teddy yet he looked so much older than him. Well, if I was in the same field as him. I would have looked the same, worn out.

He repeated his question twice. And if I don't answer him, I could kiss goodbye to my Sundays for the rest of the year. It was a terrible idea, yet my mind couldn't find the answer he was looking for.

"Uhm..." I cleared my throat and reached for the bottled water the man prepared for me. I gulped the water and I found relief in its coldness. Though it was easily washed away by the hard staring the man was giving me. I couldn't keep stalling him anymore. "Just tell me what you want to hear--" Dang! I have done it again. Why couldn't I control my own tongue? Ugh!

My hands balled on my side trying to keep a calm exterior. I didn't want him scribbling over his small notebook.

"Well, I want you to be honest with me--" he paused, looking closely at my reaction. "You know the essence of these sessions is for you to be honest with me, right? How can I help you, if you are not being honest with me, Thalia?"

I summoned all the force inside me to stop myself from rolling my eyes. "Well, I am being honest to you. It's up to you if you would believe me or not."

The man nodded while his left hand wrote words on his small notebook. "Very well. Then will you tell me about these dreams you have been having?"

I sighed. It was tiring to answer that darn question every time I see him. It doesn't help me at all. "I told you. They are not dreams--" I pursed my lips.

"Then alternate reality. Would that connotation suit it better?"

I opened and closed my mouth. "Whatever."

"It's the time you detach yourself from the accident, Thalia. Miguel is never coming back." The man peeked at his notebook before laying his eyes on me, "I can assure you, I am real. Flesh and bone."

I bit back a laugh though some might have escaped that I caught the man raising his eyebrows. "Well, that was the exact words the other shrink, you know from that, alternate reality, told me."

"Thalia--" He was stopped by the loud ding of his clock.

Finally! The ten minutes were over. "Well, see you next Sunday, Dr. Fitz."

I didn't wait for him to speak another word. I stood and left.

Honesty is overrated when no one would believe you.

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of baoxian23
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for baoxian23
1 year ago

Comments

Welcome back sister. I am excited for your new novel. Be active like before, I like this small episode also. When we are frustrated we didn't like many things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will try my best dear friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago