A walk in my neighborhood

5 37
Avatar for baned
Written by
2 years ago

Pondering on what to write today, I decided to take a walk in my neighborhood and show the world the lovely place I live in.
So, turn on your reader view.

I am a citizen of Nigeria with legal documents to show for it. Haha 😅
well, that was just to make you laugh.
I live in Odeda Local Government Area in Abeokuta city of Nigeria. Abeokuta is a very calm area, there are a lot of vegetations especially where I live. A lot of students live here because their university is very close to this location.

The atmosphere at the moment of this writing

It’s a Sunny 🌤 Sunday today, the temperature is 92 degrees Fahrenheit, precipitate is 10%, the humidity is 60% and the speed of the wind is 7mph.

The entrance to my neighborhood

From the picture above, it is written clearly the name of the hood I live.
Oluwokeesin is the name of my hood, it’s a Yoruba name but I seem to not understand the meaning even though I’m from the Yoruba tribe.
Please any Yoruba person or whoever knows the meaning reading this should help me out in the comment section

So, after entering the gate of the hood, by the left side there is restaurant where lots of rich people purchase their food. Being a student area, guys take their girlfriends there to have have a meal. As you would expect their food is way expensive and it doesn’t worth the purchase price.

Major Restaurant in the hood

This restaurant sells quite a lot of meal.
They sell Rice, Rice cooked together with Beans, Amala (yam flour meal), Fufu (cassava flour meal), Pounded yam and the others I don’t remember. 😅

They also have a variety of soups they make. I’ve seen Efo Riro (vegetable soup), Egusi (melon soup), Ewedu (also vegetable soup) and pepper stew. I have tried about three different types of meal at this restaurant.

So, walking further down the road you would see a block making industry. This industry work every day and they don’t have a solid competition around where they are. From morning till the best part of the day this guys keep on working and I see the workers leaving around 8pm after having their bath.

Block industry in the hood

I live very close to this block industry, if you look further the story building with black roof is where I stay presently. It’s a great environment to live in

The apartment where I live

Oluwanifemi is the name of this apartment.
There are four major apartments in this building. The ground floor is a 4 bedroom flat while the top floor is a 5 bedroom flat.
I live on the ground floor and I don’t have a major problem with the house. The toilet where I use have little plumbing problem that the caretaker have refused to repair.
Well, this is not a article about my hostel so I’m leaving my hostel story behind.

Just about 5 steps from the block industry, there is this hostel that I feel it’s the most beautiful hotel in my neighborhood haha.
The hostel looks great, the interior is beautiful I couldn’t snap the interior because I don’t want any one to charge me to court from trespassing. haha 😅

The most beautiful hostel

Well. I have not seen all the hostels in the hood but this one is quiet a beaut. What do you think about it?
My comment section is open.


In the hood we have lots and lots of merchants selling different consumables. I will post a few of them.

chicken and chips stand

Beokem foods as you deal with anything chicken, roasted chicken especially.
I recently bought chicken about two weeks ago which was worth about 3$. They are still owing me about 20 cents as change. 😅

Food stuffs merchant

This vendor sell frozen foods (fish and chicken) and other food ingredients.

POS vendor

This vendor offers banking service like payment of bills, withdrawal and other minor banking services

Below are pictures of some places in the neighborhood

Aso-Rock street
Ola Bahamas Street
Isokan street
Ireti Ayo street
Community well
Latoye hostel. A very popular hostel in the hood
Redeemed Christian Church of God. A worship center for Christians
Lateef Mosque. A worship center for Muslims

Thank you for sparing your time to read A walk in my neighborhood.

All the pictures used for this article were taken by me.

5
$ 1.44
$ 1.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @foryoubtc09
+ 2
Avatar for baned
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

That's an interesting walk you got there. Your neighborhood seems a lot going on. There's a Christian and Muslim places for worship. Lots of streets but I see a few people. The one making blocks must be rich then since there is no competition :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am interested in seeing pictures of local life and reading articles about life there. From time to time, I share such pictures and content related to my work. It is interesting to see the lifestyles of different cultures.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh oh. The keep an eye on me I have a new article in mind to post

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I had to do it if I want to write tho article. The sun is scorching and people are starring as I was clicking. Haha but it was worth it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope that you really enjoyed yourself gliding through your street dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago