Want to quit working and start playing games

2 45
Avatar for bala41288
7 months ago

Today I visited one of my friend's houses and he had a PS5 connected to a 60-inch television. I was so excited after seeing that. It has been my dream to play games on PS5 for several years. It is not that I cannot afford a PlayStation but I don't have the time right now for more entertainment. I'm focusing my energy more on doing some work than spending it on entertainment. Sometimes my mind says that I should distract myself from something but mostly it would be a short entertainment and not a long one.

Sometimes I watch some TV series or movies and that would be a good distraction for me. But it is only a short term. Unless I start a big TV series it is under control. But if I start playing games, I might start losing my power and start bringing a new routine to my life where there would be no extra activities for me than playing games and doing my day job. This is one thing that I fear and I don't get into games these days. I have been like this for several months about a few years back. Back then there were no extra activities for me than my day job.

Source

Today I read a lot, learned a lot, and worked on some community projects too. But back then it was not the case and I had a lot of time to waste. Today after visiting the friend, I started to have a feeling that I should get back to that life again and at least once in a while. I remember playing a lot of games on my PC. I don't know how different the experience would be to play using a PlayStation but someday I want to try it.

I remember spending a lot of time playing GTA and other strategy games, especially Dota 2. Those were golden days. It was when I joined my day job and started playing the games in the first few years of my day job. I used to play a minimum of 12 hours a day. Every game in Dota 2 used to take a minimum of 1 hour and some games even go further than that. I used to play continuously one after the other. It was a very big addiction that I had. Later when I started focusing on learning and studying things related to my day job, I came out of this addiction. I stopped playing for nearly 2 years and later after I bought a new laptop, I wanted to test the performance of the laptop by playing Dota 2 again and finally got into the same addiction once again.

Today I have started to have a feeling that one fine day I want to stop working and start playing games like the good old days. I did not have any worry about my life or any fear about my life or health and I used to play for hours together. Today even for work, I'm finding it hard to sit in front of the system for hours together.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote@balazas aHive Witness
Vote@kanibotas aHive Engine Witness



2
$ 0.67
$ 0.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Geri
Avatar for bala41288
7 months ago

Comments

I recommend you to read this article of mine about why you shouldnt do it: https://read.cash/@Geri/modern-video-games-suck-1e3f84d1

If you decide to do it anyway, then let me give a recommendation: forget the poop station, gta, and aaa craps. These are WASD model viewers disguised as video games, professionally mass-marketinged in social media, and they are not going to offer you real gaming experience, just sorrow. Go for B and indie class games. Instead of wasting real money on it, get some 10 year old 4 core stuff with some cheap 23" ips monitor, dont let you be trapped in the squirrel wheel.

$ 0.00
7 months ago

Very well said. I will take some time to read your article fully. Thank you.

$ 0.00
7 months ago