My top 3 stupid alt coin investments

3 42
Avatar for bala41288
9 months ago

Bitcoins are not the only cryptocurrency. Just because it is very popular it doesn't make the best cryptocurrency out there. There are so many other cryptocurrencies emerging in the market and many are very good and some are not very great for the long term. Most of my investment stays inside the Hive ecosystem. Even though I prefer investing inside Hive because it is a known ground, there are times when I used to think that I should also be investing in some tokens that are outside Hive so that I can diversify my portfolio. I have to admit that I regret investing in some of the altcoins.

Altcoin investments are good only if your portfolio value increases which has never happened for me. I have to say that in the crypto world when we work on a project and get a payment, it is wise to take the money to a safe investment or to the real world. We might end up in a trap if we do some stupid investments at the wrong time. I wouldn't say that these altcoins are stupid but I would like to say that my investment decision was not very great. I would like to go into detail with each of those coins instead of giving a generic overview.

Source

Polkadot

This was my friend's suggestion. I should have made some research on this before investing. My friend did alarm me at the right time and also made me purchase this coin at the right time when the price was very good. I wanted to explore this chain more and tried moving some of my coins from exchanges to the Polkadot wallet. That is when they lost me. The transaction fees were so much and I had to pay so much of the fees to just move a small amount of crypto.

This really disappointed me so much. We all know how we consider ETH's transaction fees as an insane thing. When there is another chain that has similar transaction fees, who would be interested to do transactions? This particular thing made me feel that this chain is not going anywhere. They did introduce some use cases but I'm not sure to what extent they were all successful. I lost interest in this but I'm still holding my coins.

The mistake that I did was to purchase Polkadot at the wrong time. When I purchased Polkadot the price was close to 40 dollars. My idea was to purchase them at 40 dollars and sell them at 45 dollars or 50 dollars which was a very easy one to achieve. Back then the price was fluctuating enough to be able to do that. I now have to either do a DCA or just wait for the price to hit 40 dollars again to a safe exit.

Source

ADA

This is the next stupid mistake I made. I had no idea bout ADA and this was really a push from one of my friends. He said that Cardano is an excellent blockchain and it is good to invest right now before the coin's value becomes double-digit. I was very curious and wanted to invest because the updates from the team were very good and the coin was also excellent.

My friend actually bought the coin for nearly 100k USD and sold it for 3X profit. I'm not even sure if he really did that or not but I'm sure he is capable of doing that. He bought at the right time and exited at the right time too. He took the profits and still retained the remaining tokens he had and I'm not sure if he is still holding it even now.

Ever since I bought the coin, the price has gone down drastically. Then later after the bear market started, I realized that my bought price was close to somewhere near the all-time high and the possibility to reach that value again was very small. But I'm thinking of doing a DCA here again so that I can be happy to sell it again for a decent price during the next bull run.

Source

Tron

Tron was my early day's cryptocurrency after Ripple. I started my crypto explorations with Bitcoin first and XRP next and tried Tron after that. Back then Tron was used to move the crypto from one exchange to another exchange. Today there are so many other cheaper coins available that do the same task for us. In exchanges that support Hive, I would say it is best to use Hive for exchange-to-exchange transfers or exchange-to-wallet transfers.

I have been holding Tron for several years now and the price has not increased by anything. I have staked my tron on the chain and have been earning the staking rewards for the same. One of the biggest problems with Tron is that it is associated with Justin Sun and he can create problems anytime. It is also not secure enough considering the fact that Justin Sun can penetrate with his power and ego. It happened for Steem and thanks to that incident and we got Hive today.

I'm not sure if I would be doing a DCA on this or not but I'm going to keep my Tron just like that without doing any further investment. Hopefully, this token also gives a decent value so that I can book my profits in the future.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote@balazas aHive Witness
Vote@kanibotas aHive Engine Witness



5
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @MatPawluczuk
Avatar for bala41288
9 months ago

Comments

I hear people say ADA will do well during the next bull run, we'll see

$ 0.00
9 months ago

As they say, we learn from our mistakes... however, some lessons are quite expensive.

$ 0.00
9 months ago

Before I tried investing in crypto but now I stopped

$ 0.00
9 months ago