Talking about Internet for beginners (1)

2 55
Avatar for bahagia-arbi
2 years ago

All people really need right now is the strongest internet connection. You can't do anything without internet, and so do I.

When I was 19 in 1997 I visitied the only one internet cafe in my province in Banda Aceh where so many Senior High School Students were there. And I looked at many tiny cables installed from one computer connected to 20 other computets at the place. I asked an operator there why they used so many tiny cable. She told me that we need internet to get across the ocean, nearly all internet traffic has to use a cable. It's tiny. I'm so surprised. Yeah, you're actually surprised, she said.

I know, I could tell that I love it. All right, let's go get some hard hats.

If you're reading this simple article anywhere outside of the Indonesia, this is probably how it's getting to you. For most of us, the internet is virtual. It's made of Instagram posts and e-mails and YouTube videos. But it's also a physical thing, and what it's made of and where it goes matters for how we use the internet now and who will be benefit in the future.

So I want to know how does our internet really work and what comes next?

The decade I was born, people were still learning
about the internet, and they didn't exactly consider it crucial. But, you know, I think about this. What about this internet thing?

What the hell is that exactly? And they call it the World Wide Web. You can e-mail anyone.

What the hell is e-mail?

Can you believe what's possible these days ?You can start the conversations with yiur friends that far from you through your computer. But now it seems we can't even function without it.

You know that there had been so many jobs require online applications. Parents around the country know that their kids can't get an adequate education without internet access. I mean, people tweeting that they needed to be rescued and a boat came in. It's truly been life saving. The internet has become essential to us, but a lot of us still don't know how it works.

Okay, now I need you to close your eyes. - All of us? - Just trust me. Just close your eyes. Yeah, for real. I'm serious. Close your eyes. What's the craziest thing it could show us - when we open our eyes? I hope it's kittens. Okay, now you can open them. Tiny people! They're us. It's tiny of us.

So I know that there are three major parts of the internet. We are on this outer ring. They call it the last mile, but really it's the first and last mile. It's the texts we send, the notifications we receive, the apps we use. Everything we do to connect or receive information from the internet happens in this first and last mile. And we are inside the box office. Also out in this outer ring are houses.

Now we have seen Wi-Fi every where, every places. This Wireless Fidelity or High Fidelity (Wifi) uses routers somewhere in our office
or somewhere in your home, and all cell service, which means that you're paying a cell tower a little bit further away, but still pretty close by. I know we must thank WECA (Wireless Ethernet Compatibility Aliance) because this company introduced Wi-Fi in 1999 in Atlanta. WiFi was introduced as a consumer brand for "Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) 802.11" products.

All this wireless technology uses radio waves to send signals into and out of the internet.

I'm gonna show you how this works. Now you can take a selfie usingyiur android/IoS mobile phone and it must be a perfect photo of you. Then you're just gonna send your selfie to me via e-mail. Boom! It happen at once! There it is. So your goal is to figure out how your e-mail got
from you phone to mine. In order for my e-mail
to get from here to here, your phone takes that photo and cuts it up into more manageable packets. We've been decapitated. Just you and me.
You can magine each packet like a letter in an envelope. Each envelope gets a header, which is a little bit more information that includes. Where it's from and where it's going to, and bunch of other things that we're not going to talk about.

So the format of each header follows a set of rules, and you can think about these rules like the rules of the online postal system. How everything is packaged and sent and received
on the internet.

So you've probably heard people say that everything that happens in our computer
is ones and zeros. Right? Binary. I have. Yeah. Which we can think of as a kind of Morse code
your computer understands. And everything that you send over the internet is also binary.

When did this happen? What? I do magic now. Incredible. So, each one or zero is a bit and eight bits is a byte. If this photo was 1.1 megabytes hat's 8,800,000 ones and zeros. Somehow
these binary ones and zeros have to get onto radio waves so be transported to the router, right? Exactly. Yes. And that's where I got stuck. I called up sundeep Rangan, who specializes in
computer engineering at New York University (NYU).

How does a wave carry binary information? We will talk about this in the other part if this contents. Thanks you for reading. See you next time.

7
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @andrianlover
$ 0.05 from @Gilang
Avatar for bahagia-arbi
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing this informative information. If you want Network Installation services, then I recommend you to visit https://networkcableinstall.cablingcompany.co.za/ website.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amigo el Internet llego y llego para quedarse, fijate como esta el mundo, Gracias al internet las noticias vuelan y se expanden, creo que sin internet en estos tiempo no se podria vivir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago