A Spoken Word Poetry: Since You Left

1 29
Avatar for azykeith
3 years ago

SINCE YOU LEFT

BOTH: I can still remember

How our love story started

GIRL: A decade and six was my age

And I was lost

In the world of risk and uncertainties

I was undeniably

A mere disappointment bleeding ink

BOY: I was sixteen

And got my whole time

Exploring the world

I was lost in control of music –

Something that I call freedom

BOTH: But my life started to alter when I met someone

GIRL: And that someone –

Made the oceans blue,

The flowers bloom,

And my heart’s beat faster

BOY: My eyes met someone –

Someone whom I never thought

Would steal my heart

GIRL: Out of everything

That I have written

I started writing my favorite one –

Our love story

BOY: Our love grew fonder

I never thought of anything greater than love

And happier than this feeling

BOTH: And I never in my life was a thought

That I would still lose you

How can love ever be so destructive?

GIRL: I am sorry

For holding you so tight

For being blind that I failed to see

That you weren’t happy with me anymore

BOY: Forgive me

For letting go of your hand

For being blind to see your worth

GIRL: I am sorry

If everything I did to you weren’t enough

I am sorry if the love I gave you wasn’t enough to make you stay

BOY: Forgive me

For chasing another star when you are a galaxy

For running away instead of hugging you

For ruining our story instead of continuing it until forever

My love

GIRL: My love

Since you left

I forgot the name of the constellations

I haven’t seen the stars for so long

Because every time I look up,

All I can remember is us –

Watching the stars shining brightly above

Right now,

I am very afraid of looking up at the sky – at night

Because every time I try

All I can see is darkness

BOY: My love

Forgive me for bringing you tears when you should be laughing

Your pen was supposed to be bleeding ink

About our story

And it shouldn’t be your eyes bleeding tears

GIRL: I’ve got tired of asking myself

Eac h night I doubt

Where did I go wrong?

Don’t I deserve to be happy?

Don’t I deserve to be loved

When all I ever did is to love you?

How love can be so cruel that I gave everything

But all I got is heart break?

I was writing our book but you closed it

I was turning the pages but you burned it down

My love, did you really love me?

BOTH: I hope you know that I miss you.

BOY: I miss your little chuckles and sweet smiles

GIRL: I miss hearing your voice before I sleep

BOY: I miss being with you in the bookstore

GIRL: I miss everything –

BOY: I want to listen to all the songs we listen to when we we’re still together

GIRL: But all I can remember are songs I heard since you left

BOY: I want to go back on the days that you were mine

GIRL: I want to be yours

But I don’t even own myself anymore

BOTH: i love you

GIRL: Love, you know I love you so

BOY: I hope you know,

I love you still.

3
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @Dolores
Avatar for azykeith
3 years ago

Comments

this is a beautiful poetry! i'd like to see more

$ 0.00
3 years ago