The One That Got Away

3 13

You called me once, asking for us to meet each other on that rainy day. You wanted to meet at the café we usually visit whenever we plan our dates. I smiled and agreed, thinking that maybe...just maybe you're planning another date time with me.

I arrived earlier than I expected. You weren't there yet. You said you were still doing something and that you might arrive late. I understood it right away, knowing too well how busy school has become.

A soft sigh escaped my lips and a warm smile formed after. I looked around my surroundings, watching every customer, every human passing by this café. And then my hot cup of black coffee arrived.

I bit my lower lip as I glanced on my phone, wondering why you haven't arrive yet. I was also thinking that time if I should just go to your apartment and meet you there instead. But I also thought that you might get mad at me, and so I stayed. Seated on the farthest part of the café, near the huge glass window and waited for you.

Few more minutes passed and you arrived. You weren't soaking from the rain but some part of your clothes got wet. I stood up and tried reaching for you but you raised your hand to stop me.

I frowned, a questioning look being thrown at you as I observe you. Dishevelled hair, dark circles under your eyes and a very distressed gaze. My heart pounded faster. All of a sudden, I felt nervous.

I pushed my cup of coffee away from me and sat properly, waiting for you to speak. You, on the other hand, took the seat across from me and let out a heavy sigh. It was like, you were drowning in deep pain and even breathing was becoming hard for you. But I didn't speak. I remained silent and waited for what you might say next.

"Let's end this. I love you but it's not enough to make me stay."

What you said made me numb. It made me speechless. The numbing pain slowing down my mind, not letting me process and understand it right away.

I...I wanted to hug you, that time.. I wanted to kneel. To beg and make you stay. But it was too late.

In a blink of an eye, as soon as the thought sunk deeper in my head, you already left. Gone. And when I tried looking for you, you were already outside. Out of the café, away from me.

My feet moved as if they knew what they must do. I run towards you, running closer as if I was trying to catch you. I sighed sharply as I grab you by the arm, stopping you from your tracks. And you stopped.

Your eyes, glistening with emptiness and pain, stripped every right I felt to question you. It was as if I had no say about your decision for us. You were looking at me as if I, who was your faithful lover, made no sense at all.

And so I stopped. I held myself together and instead of stopping you, I hugged you. For the last time, I held you in my arms. So tight. So tight I never wanted to let go.

When I went home, drenched from the rain, regret starts to pierce my whole body. And the pain starts to suffocate my heart.

If ever I stopped you.. If I loved you more than I ever did.. Will you even stay?

5
$ 0.00

Comments

Aws very painful short story😢

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A painful short story. I hope the girl gave enough reason for the guy. And I hope the guy will soon find his right one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago