What 2020 did to us

8 45
Avatar for annoftheroses
3 years ago

We have different experiences but this year is really too much for us.

  • We're victims of Taal Volcano eruption

  • My grandma went back to heaven

  • Didn't have a chance to march on stage for our graduation

I will tell the first one first.

Ever heard of Taal Volcano eruption that happened this 2020?

We're part of that. We're victims.

I remember that day way back January. I'm just chatting with my friends when I feel our house is shaking. Not once, not twice, but I lost count of it already.

And then we saw a huge pile of clouds at the back of our yard. But it's not clouds. It's from the volcano.

From our backyard
(c) to the owner

My friends are worried and said that we should immediately evacuate there. I said that we're 14 km away from it and I thought it would not be that harmful to us UNTIL it started raining ashfalls.

Hours passed by, it's still raining hard of ashfall and the earthquakes are no joke too. I thought our small house would not make it. I can see some breaks within our walls and the people here are having headaches because of the shakings.

I'm really worried about what is going to happen. We have our grandma who is bedridden, and when there is a huge aftershock, my father would carry her outside.

And then the night came, no one was able to sleep. My parents are talking to someone and suddenly said that we should pack our things. That early morning, 2-3 AM, we decided to leave our humble homes and joined our neighbor who has a car to evacuate.

And I'm really shocked to see what's outside. The ashfalls are all over. I thought we're living in a black and white world. I can't see anything. The smell is really baaaad.

We're really thankful for them for sharing that little space for our family to reside in their car.

At first, we don't know where to go. But God is really kind. One of the co-workers of our neighbor owns a small apartment and she's really kind to let us stay there. We can't really go to the evacuation area because of my grandma's condition so we're really blessed to be able to stay there.

When we got to that apartment, it feels surreal. I think I'm just dreaming and having a nightmare. I can see my cousins sleeping soundly as the shakes here are weaker than our place, they are just children but they already experience this.

I also see my parents, and worries are painted on their faces. We're also worried about our cat since we can't find him at home.

And the greatest question arises. How can we survive this? But God and the people are really generous and kind. The owner of the apartment gave us things that we could use like an electric fan, cartons, and such. Some of my friends also came and gave relief goods. The barangay officials there are also kind to give us clothes and free foods every day.

We also fetched some of the things, gave food to some animals that were left of, and fetch our cat when we've got the chance since the alert level falls.

And here is what we saw.

What an event to start the new year right? Our very special place was turned to dust. I know everything has a reason and it's my favorite quotes of all. But having to experience this is really new to us and we will never forget that we are part of this tragedy.

But the best thing that did it to us is we became stronger. We rise as one. The generosity of the people is showing up. We're acting like real humans :)

And one early morning when we are still on evacuation, my ninang cried as she said that our grandma died.



This is my entry to @Dangerous_Fly , since the topic is something about moments we cannot forget. I really can't forget this one since it's still fresh. If you want to share your moments too, you could check it out too!

https://read.cash/@Dangerous_Fly/a-moment-to-remember-10-giveaway-6cc8b0a4

7
$ 0.00
Sponsors of annoftheroses
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for annoftheroses
3 years ago

Comments

Im sorry for that moment that you had been through,that taal volcano disaster was just one of the trials that filipinos face this year. Though we werent affected by it bcoz we are located here in mindanao but I can feel the difficulties the people had been through just by watching the news. We also experience disaster here in Davao,that earthquake that destroys a lot of building and homes even killed people and leaves trauma for all of us here. And now this covid 19 pandemic. I dont know what awaits in 2021 but I know for sure that the strong will of our hearts will nver surrender whaterver trials and disaster may happen. And of course God is watching over us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's really hard. What more to other people who experience way harder tjan that 😔 I'm sorry for hearing what happened in Davao too. I also saw it on news and it's really heartbreaking 😔 really hope that everything will be back to normal as soon as possible 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes really hoping and praying. I know this will all pass including this pandemic. And a brighter future awaits for us😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amen! Claiming it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

a lots of tragedy happens . i hope 2021 will be a good year to all of us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really hope so too :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This year really is a big blow for everyone. Many people suffer and many already lost their loved ones. But what this year teaches us is that it brings us closer to God. Maybe it His way of letting people know that He's real, that we must strengthen our faith in Him and always believe. This will pass. Believe in HIm. He is in control.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for uplifting :) We always pray that everything would be back to normal :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago