From Learning to Read and Think

6 145
Avatar for anli
Written by
3 years ago

My hero "MyHero" sent me on a remembrance trip to 1984 with his https://noise.cash/post/ljx57v39

And then, after watching both of these clips

Kenny Loggins - Footloose (Official Video)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ltrMfT4Qz5Y

Footloose Final Dance 1984 to 2011
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JyD8BxoB2To

I realized what Dorothy Sayers meant 1947/48 when she said "By the invention of the film and the radio, we have made certain that no aversion to reading shall secure [our young men and women] from the incessant battery of [ideas, ideas, ideas]. They do not know what the [ideas] mean; they do not know how to ward them off or blunt their edge or fling them back; they are a prey to [ideas] in their emotions instead of being the masters of them in their intellects."

That was the moment when I began to write down these ideas here without further ado and then turned back to my own goals for the day.

In the evening, while translating a text about Self-Directed Education, I then came across an interview with a fellow who, at 15, left the school he attended, without being able to read - with the support of his father and the school principal.

At the end of the video clip, I hear him say the words, "I think it taught me all the confidence. I think Summerhill gave me a lot of strength to trust in my own judgement and trust my own feelings."

Boy who did not want to learn to read - Children of Summerhill 1998
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o58xTHGYzIY

This once again gave weight to my aforementioned decision to end my 1984 excursion.

PS: It is worth noting how Dorothy Sayers does not speak of "children" or of "kids" here, for they are no less human than adults and capable of language long before being fed media, whether written or photographed.

PPS: This text is available in German language at https://read.cash/@anli/vom-lesen-und-vom-denken-lernen-458eec21

Image by Jürgen Rübig from Pixabay

9
$ 0.50
From 1 contributor
Avatar for anli
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Students can use 5G technology to download apps that make studying more engaging and enjoyable. If a student is having difficulty grasping a topic, online vendors can look for articles and essays for students. Simply click the button if you are ready to order your essay. They provide excellent writing assistance. They can research the topic using a variety of learning apps.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello and thanks for your visit. Unfortunately you completely missed the point. However, I understand, it is a loooong way back home where true thinking happens without just repeating the ideas people are bombarded with.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice I appreciate what in this news

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks for your reply!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well to me read and write is a basic skill but more important than that is the free will and also the skill to comprehend what you read, write, and now the new way of learning which is listening and watching material. It is important to also have common sense when it comes to learning.

By to way in our modern world now you need to learn to type instead of writing, and to know how to use technology to search for information on either format video, audio, and text.

I guess my comment is out of context with your article.

$ 0.20
3 years ago

Thanks for your reply! No, it is not out of context. Not at all! I'd just like to highlight the aspect of defense again: Bearing bad ideas instead of falling for them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago