The night before my hanging.

9 21
Avatar for aniruddhasen
3 years ago

Hanging till death, a capital punishment reserved for heinous crimes. Must of us would shudder to think about it. But I tried to place myself in such a place and think what would I do a night before my hanging.

The first thing that will come to my mind is my life, how I lived it. Not the quantity in years but the quality. What I achieved and where I went wrong. How I have benefited others and how I have harmed others. How people will remember me? - will also cause trouble to me. I will spend quite a lot of time cribbing on the mistakes of my life, which is leading to my hanging. The beauty of life and nature in this world will intrigue me. I will realize the value and preciousness of life. I will pray to God to pardon me for my mistakes and give another opportunity to live a fulfilling life. I may also curse God for being unjust to me, for taking my life prematurely. May be I will curse myself for doing the thing that is leading to my death.

                Then will come, my family and the close ones. I will think a lot about them, about the whole life spent with them. The happiness I shared with them and the sorrow I gave to them. I will feel sad that I could not do more for them. I will feel sad as they will be forever stigmatized in society for what I have done. I will feel particularly sad for my wife and son, who will bear the most for my actions. I will be sorry for my mother as she had given birth to me. How difficult it will be for her to bear the death of her son, that too by hanging. I will have a feeling that I have failed her, for not being a good son and dying before her.

                At last the acceptance that death is tomorrow morning, will dawn. May be I will resign to my fate. May be I will be angry on myself and the world, or I may peacefully accept the inevitable. I will be silent all through.

                I am not able to think about the last moment when the noose will be tightened around my neck. I leave it to that point of time, if I ever face that situation. 

PS- Competition obligation - All readers aspiring for sponsorship may follow https://read.cash/c/get-sponsored-2a0b. This community helps budding writers to get sponsorship to augment there income in read cash.

I am also thankful to @Ashma .

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of aniruddhasen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aniruddhasen
3 years ago

Comments

I doubt I would have those thoughts. Being choked or wait till your neck breaks is not something that happens from one moment to the next. Long before I had time to think. The evening before most likely will be one in fear. Not in the mood to eat the last meal on request. Most likely it's tasteless or I choke in it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Experience will vary from person to person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope I'll never get into a situation like this, so I'm not worried. Too much brooding can make you sick.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is kinda dark. But hey cheer up. This is a good one. I felt the emotion in it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I call this sober reflection but it's better never to experience this. I love your imagination.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

thanks, just trying to explore the various sides of me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago