The 4 D

5 33
Avatar for aniruddhasen
3 years ago

QM turned the whole scientific community amazed through its theory of the functioning of the sub atomic world. But the Theory of Relativity left the entire generation wondering about the possibilities and repercussion of such a theory which dealt with the bigger objects like stars and galaxies.

Einstein introduced the fourth dimension - time to the regular 3 dimensional space. Let’s understand it in the most basic way.

We deal with 3 dimensions - length, width and height mostly. It serves our purpose and as a common man and for our day to day living we require height dimension very less. Suppose I want to tell you where I live, then I will give you my latitude and longitude. That’s OK on a flat surface. When you will reach that location you may find a 20 storied house having 100 flats. Neither you are at the wrong location nor did I give you the wrong co-ordinates. But if I had given the floor I am living then it would have been easier for you to reach my flat. That’s were height is important. This completes the 3 dimensions.

Now let’s see how time is important. Suppose I gave you my 3 dimensional co-ordinates today. After that we lost touch for 1 year. After 1 year you decide to come to my place and you don’t find me there. That’s because during that 1 year I may have shifted to some other place. So when you come you will not find me there. That’s why time is important. I was at my old location at that point of time, not now. This is the fourth dimension as per Einstein.

Till now Newton’s theories were the foundation of knowledge. This theory changed it. Both the theories have a completely different view of the same world. Nature behaves differently at different scales but why? As per Newton’s 3rd law action and reaction are equal and opposite. If we throw a ball to a wall it will came back following the 3rd law. But that doesn’t happen with an electron. An electron just does not obey the third law of Newton.

There is more to it. We are never at rest; it is just that our motion is relative to everything else. Everything is in a constant state of motion starting from the bed to the lamp post to the mountain to the earth to the farthest star. We may be driving a car at 100 kms per hour, but that car is moving also at 1000 kms per hour at the equator due to rotation of the earth, and likewise it is moving at 67,000 miles per hour around the sun, and the solar system is moving at the speed of 448,000 miles per hour. So the cars speed is relative only. Einstein also said that as the speed increases time slows down, that means we will age slowly as we approach speed of light. Einstein’s theory was totally different from the classical physics prevalent at that time given by Newton and others.

The next level comes with the black holes where it seems our understanding of physics becomes defunct. Things start getting bizarre when scientists try to understand black hole. The present day scientists are working to reconcile these two theories – the Quantum Mechanics and the Theory of Relativity, to come up with a Theory of Everything but it has still eluded them.

PS- Competition obligation - All readers aspiring for sponsorship may follow https://read.cash/c/get-sponsored-2a0b. This community helps budding writers to get sponsorship to augment there income in read cash.

I am also thankful to @Ashma .

10
$ 0.44
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Mictorrani
Sponsors of aniruddhasen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aniruddhasen
3 years ago

Comments

Keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a surprise, such good Post and no comments. This post deserves some tips also.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes no one seems to be interested in this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is well explained. You have that relatively rare ability to be able to explain something potentially difficult so it can be understood by an intelligent layman. It is so easy to either oversimplify or become too scientific. I know that from my own experience, that balance is hard to keep. But it is possible and a few authors have that ability.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. Actually I was feeling bad as I thought I have written this well but no one noticed it. You made my day. Now I can sleep peacefully, at least I got 1 meaningful comment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago