【WATCH★(•ᴗ•)★THIS】: Tokyo Ghoul

20 38
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Series in one sentence:
Someone with a lame haircut and a boring personality is the main character of an anime.

Series in more sentences:
A boy gets jumped by a humanoid demon, called a ghoul, and barely survives it thanks to a planned attack targeted at said ghoul. Both are taken to a hospital, where she's used as his organ donor for an experiment.

He wakes up a half-ghoul and all the problems that come with it.

Series in one selective, crusty image:

Intriguing. Not only did it show how humans experience these creatures, but also the struggles the ghouls have to go through in order not be a nuisance. You'd expect monsters to just be monsters, but they have real concerns.

A less exciting part of the series was the friendship between the main character and this one ghoul girl he supposedly hangs out with all the time. The show implies they've spent alot of time together, but their relationship didn't look that tight to me. He treats her nicely, but I didn't see the same level of respect returned to him, yet the scenes and dialogue concerning these two pretend they're good friends.. or something. It's hard to explain.

Anyway, not sure what else to say. I never got around to the second season; I watched this show long before it came out, so I'd have to watch it again just to refresh my memory some more. But season 1 did feel like an introduction to something greater, so maybe I should go through the effort of watching the rest someday. The ending was pretty awesome.

4
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @heartbeat1515
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I wonder if a ghoul is into showing respect and being kind. Isn't that a human idea of how relationships should be?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmwell, from what I can remember, the ghouls aren't that different from humans, though there are enough that show up in the series who are complete maniacs. They give off vampire vibes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oof you really don't finish the long ones, don't you? Season one was more of an eye-opener, ues an introduction too. By season 2, the action really got serious though and I think that season was what got more people hooked on the anime. It reached season 4, actually- and by the 4th season, it got way too complicated already. Also. Riza never disappeared in the entire 4 seasons. Like ever.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I watched these animes an eternity ago, before there ever were more seasons. Now I'm occupied with other shows, so I need time to revisit all these updated old cookies.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder how you can remember all these anime if you watched them an eternity ago. How many series did you watch by now?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

More than 150, I know this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I stuck around and kept waiting for season updates because if the manga was good. I always hoped the anime would be justified a bit. So now, you definitely need to go and watch since the series is completed already,😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Looks like I have to now, ho ho. I'll also have to remind myself to update my review(s) afterwards.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You've got a lot of updating to do 😂😂😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I watch too much anime, man.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can see that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never watch complicated anime like this but your review is better than the one written on the website. Next time I need a suggestion on what anime to watch next. I know who to find.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A show is as complicated as your understanding of its spoken language or added subtitles, lewl. I don't remember it being too puzzling. You can always give it a watch if you have time to spare. And can find the episodes, of course.

And thank you! Haven't read this other Tokyo Ghoul review, can't give a quality judgement myself, but I'm happy to be your number one suggestion box.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love watching anime. I am not able to do so when I am busy. Sometimes, I stop watching for a very long time that I do not know what to watch anymore. I am stuck to the old anime like detective Conan, Hajime kindaichi the old Pokemon (ash, misty and brook).

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you like anime, but have little time available, then try focusing on the shorter series. You know, those that are only 12 or 24 episodes long.

Haven't you watched the newer Pokémon yet?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you mean the one made into a movie? I watched that and a few animated movies. Like the legendary pokemon that is the protector of a city. I forgot the title.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, not the movies, the newer episodes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think so. I might have watch a few but I can't remember.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can make a habit out of watching one episode a day to relax.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am the type that cannot stop watching until it is finished 😅🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago