Myths and facts about nails πŸ’…

20 38
Avatar for aleja
Written by
3 years ago

There are many myths and legends that we hear about nails, surely some are true (not so true) and some lies (not so lies) about the state and health of them.

To take care of them, a perfect manicure is not enough, nutrition, hygiene, care, protection also have an influence. Next, we tell you the truths and lies of some of the myths that you surely wondered on some occasion.

1.- White dots indicate a lack of calcium.

FALSE; These white spots usually form when the base of the nail is hurt or injured and disappear as the nail grows. However, some changes in appearance can be indicative of diseases, for example extremely brittle nails can herald a malfunction of the thyroid; Very yellowish and thick nails can be the result of lung deficiencies, and very white nails can suggest liver dysfunction.

2.- Hard nails are healthy nails.

FALSE; Nails must always be flexible, a sign of their health. It is mistakenly believed that a hard nail is healthier and it is not, it is more brittle due to its hardness.

3.- It is possible to get influenza or other viruses with a manicure.

TRUE; Viruses and bacteria can be transmitted through the hands, so you should make sure that your manicurist sterilizes the tools well and takes all hygienic measures before treating you.

4.- A balanced diet will keep your nails healthy.

TRUE; Having a healthy diet is one of the great beauty rituals. Skin, hair, and nails will appear brighter and more hydrated.

5.- Let the nails breathe.

FALSE; Nails are made of keratin, a protein made up of dead cells, so there is no need to oxygenate them. Actually, the nutrients that keep nails healthy come from the bloodstream, so letting them "breathe" doesn't affect them at all.

6.- The constant use of acrylic damages the nail.

TRUE; It is a very aggressive technique that damages the nail, especially when removing the product. The base of the nail weakens and becomes more porous. It does not matter the size or shape of your natural nails, if you keep them neat and with a good manicure, they will look beautiful.

7.- Nails continue to grow after death.

FALSE. They do not grow after passing away. What happens is that dehydration causes the skin and other soft tissues to begin to contract after death, and this creates the optical illusion that nails and hair have grown, although in reality they remain the same length.

In this way we separate the myths from the truths, so as not to get confused and help maintain and protect your nails.

Comment ... Vote ... Subscribe

P.S.: The lead image was taken from the website pinterest.com

7
$ 2.13
$ 2.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @esciisc
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of aleja
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aleja
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I don't usually cut my nails because it is breaks naturally whenever I do that laundry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can file them instead of them splitting, wear gloves when washing so that your nails do not weaken more with water and detergents.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not comfortable on wearing gloves while doing laundry. I tried it once but I didn't do it again

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is very uncomfortable but it is necessary when you are going to work with such abrasive detergents for a long time. Try to wear gloves that fit tightly to make it easier to handle the clothes when washing them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will try it again. Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can say i have a beautiful nails. Even other people says it is like a woman's nail πŸ˜‚ it so roundy and it is almost like a crystal when it is cleaned πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

you are lucky then πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I got white spot now on my nail after hurting it the other day. And I read that before like when you have that you lack of something. Glad to confirm it's not true.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad that my article has been useful for you, thanks for commenting my friend 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh now I know the myths and facts thanks to you 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You´re welcome 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My nails easily breaks. One time I just scratched by itchy back and my nails broke. It's not like my back is that hard πŸ€·πŸ»β€β™€οΈ So I can't grow my nails longer and put manicure just like other girls. But I like it as it is because it looks neat and clean.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think you are lacking some nutrients for the nails.. I am actually like that too esp if my hands are soaked on the water for too long. Like when i am washing clothes or cleaning the house

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that's how my nails are. So I don't usually soak it in water for too long.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And also using chemicals like detergents

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@esciisc and @Bonjuor1068 they can wear protective gloves for their hands when washing or doing chores where they need to use chemicals, such as cleaning the kitchen or washing the bathroom

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah i know.m but i guess there's something we should do to make our nails healthier.. We lack of nutrients essential for nails i guess

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sure @Bonjour1068, I am now taking Biotin which is good for hair, skin and nails; I also try as much as possible to eat balanced, and when I have to use very abrasive detergents I use protective gloves.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My nails do not grow much because since I was a child I have bitten them and I have them weak, but I keep them fixed and I usually put their transparent polish on them. Thanks for reading my articles and commenting πŸ˜πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Same πŸ˜… But I only put polish if there a special occassion haha.

You're welcome πŸ’™

$ 0.00
3 years ago