What do Garden Gnomes and Ice have in Common?

7 33
Avatar for alberich
1 year ago
Topics: Garden, Gnome, Ice

Not much, to be honest. But they are both cash cows for different industries.

Gnomes

Garden gnomes. What are they? Why are they so popular? Why (in England) does everybody want a gnome in their garden?

Actually, they're ancient pagan fertility symbols. They are phallic symbols. Placed in a garden, they encourage the garden to grow. People who buy them and put them in their gardens are unaware of this. But nonetheless it's true. I don't know what motivates them. It's tradition - a garden without gnomes isn't a garden...

Many years ago I saw a TV documentary, where the owner of a garden centre was being interviewed. It was somewhere in the UK, a big garden centre, selling everything garden-related. Seeds, shrubs, tools, ornaments. The interviewer asked him what his best-selling product was. He didn't hesitate. Gnomes, he said. Every year he drives a new car from selling garden gnomes.

Ice

So - what does ice have to do with the price of tea in China?

I've lived many years in Southeast Asia. Mainly Thailand. Living in guesthouses, where there are no cooking facilities. Even if I could cook (which I can't LOL). So, I eat in restaurants. Of course, most restaurants are Thai-owned. In tourist centres there are western-owned restaurants. The western-owned restaurants all face the same problem. Sourcing ingredients. (And finding reliable staff and good cooks...but I digress.)

My point is this. In Thailand, a group of men will show up at a restaurant with a bottle or two of whiskey. They spend the afternoon, leisurely drinking their whiskey. They buy food, they order 'sets'. What is a set? A set is a bucket of ice, a bottle of coke, and soda water.

The restaurant makes some money from the food, but their biggest profit is from the 'sets'. These guys may order three or four sets in the course of the afternoon. Or more. Of the sets, by far the biggest mark up is ice.

Thailand is hot. When you drink, lots of ice gets consumed. A restaurant can have a box of ice delivered quite cheaply. From that box, they can sell 30 or 40 buckets of ice. Each bucket sells for 30% of the price of the box. (Don't quote me on that...I've never run a restaurant, I don't have the figures in my head...but you get my drift. The mark up is huge, that's what I'm trying to say.) That's where they make their money. Selling ice.

Most westerners opening restaurants in Thailand won't entertain the idea. They refuse to allow anybody to bring their own drinks into the restaurant. They give ice away free or sell it very cheaply. 90% of them close within a year.

5
$ 1.83
$ 0.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
+ 1
Sponsors of alberich
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for alberich
1 year ago
Topics: Garden, Gnome, Ice

Comments

I think westerners are greedy. What is it link for them if someone takes something from outside? Is there any hussle for them? This shows the greedyness in westerners. Beside this, thanks for giving good knowledge.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

I absolutely agree. Many westerners come to Southeast Asia and bring their western 'mindset' with them. They expect everything to work here the way it did back home. I don't know if it's greed so much. But definitely they are inflexible and unwilling to adapt. Not always. Many get it and adapt and settle in and contribute. Which is good for everyone. For them and the people around them. At the end of the day, we are guests here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well said, The same situation is going on in the world but no one is speaking against. Idk why this happen.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

There are many problems in the world, my friend. There's nothing we can do about the 'big' problems. We are powerless against governments, the military, the police. They will always win. I have a good idea of the cause of the problems, but unfortunately I don't have any solutions. All I can do is stand my ground. Do my best to help those around me while I'm still drawing breath :-)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes off course, every problem comes with it solution. But these todays governments are so bad (corrupt) and they take action on those who speak against them. We have to do something to save our coming generation as well.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Yes, I'm very concerned for the youngsters. I'm 63. It seems like the world is trying very hard to kill my generation off. When we're gone, there will be no corrective. Kids will only know the new normal.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are absolutely right. But we cannot go against the judgment of nature. This is how religious problems arise. In this way, the matter may get worse because people consider what is in their favor to be true.

$ 0.10
1 year ago