My (Initial) Experience with AI (Artificial Intelligence) Writing Tools

0 52
Avatar for alberich
1 year ago
Topics: AI, Writing

Article Writing

I recently decided to try to generate some cash by writing articles. I started writing and publishing articles to the read.cash platform. In the first month I made about $15 from 'Rusty' (read.cash's automated tipping bot). I tipped a couple of other writers, but so far have not received any tips from read.cash's membership. I was looking for ways to scale up the operation. Enter AI, stage left.

Ryter.me

After some Google research I came upon AI writing tools. I tried rytr.me. I signed up for rytr.me's free plan. I used it to create one article, which used up my monthly allocation on the free plan.

Writecream.com

Next I signed up for writecream.com's free plan. Likewise, I produced one article, which used up my monthly resource allocation.

Jasper.ai

Next I tried jasper.ai. They don't offer a free plan. They offer a 5-day money back guarantee. So I signed up to check it out. (Yesterday I cancelled my account and requested a refund. Strictly speaking, I wasn't eligible for a refund. You're supposed to request it within five days. I was on day seven. But they graciously granted me the refund. Thank you! Kudos to Jasper! I need that money.)

Impressive Performance

My initial impression of these tools? Wow! I can't believe the quality of the output. It reads as if written by a human being. And it passes plagiarism checks. It's actually quite scary. If AI can write as well as that, who needs me? Brrr...

At the end of the day, nothing can match an article written by a real human being. But it takes time to produce quality output. The AI writing tools are a huge time saver, and can enable you to turn out a passable article on a topic you know little or nothing about. There is usually a need for a certain amount of editing and fact checking (they can get a bit over-creative at times), but, nonetheless, it's a huge time saver.

Problem

Here's my problem with AI writers:

These are very powerful tools. They come bristling with templates and 'recipes' and long-form editors to assist you in the creative process. There is a steep learning curve to figure out how to get the best out of them. These tools are capable of great things. But you have to learn to feed them the information they need to produce the output you want. All the tools have excellent training videos. But training videos only take you so far. You have to roll up your sleeves and get down and dirty. You have to learn to get the best output by trial and error.

And, before you know it, you've used up all your allocated resources. You can hardly learn to use one of the templates or modules without burning your monthly resource allocation. Never mind all the others templates. To properly evaluate tools like these, you need unlimited access, before you can get a real sense of whether it's the right tool for you or not. So you can't evaluate them properly without buying their most expensive unlimited plans.

Reasonable Pricing

Now, I realize it isn't cheap to offer services like this. I don't believe these AI writers are over-priced, for what they offer. I realize it could be a huge problem if they have many users evaluating the product with unlimited access, burning up server resources. I see this as a conundrum. And I don't have a solution. I'm just giving honest user feedback. I guess the fees are chicken feed for corporations and established businesses. But for people starting out in the industry, it's not so easy.

Conclusion

There are other AI writers. I can't say anything about wordhero.co because I haven't used it. Of the three I tried, there is a price progression. The most affordable is rytr.me. Mid-range is writecream.com. Most expensive is jasper.ai. I would say this is about right. All in all, jasper is the best in my opinion. But the other two are also excellent additions to any writing toolbox.

If you are an established writer with a customer base I would recommend trying one of these tools. If you're a corporation that needs to generate copy - website copy, blog posts, advertising, product descriptions, emails, or any other kind of copy, I wouldn't hesitate to invest in an AI writing tool.

2
$ 1.36
$ 1.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of alberich
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for alberich
1 year ago
Topics: AI, Writing

Comments