What does inappropriate really mean?

0 8
Avatar for akumagai
1 year ago

Where does society start

And where does the home end is something that really gets me thinking all the time, especially when I am left thinking there must be more to how I see things from my perspective. A loaded question I will try to tackle today based on experiences and life lessons.

I apologize for sounding so cliché when spoken inside my head. I have to admit it is very therapeutic to speak to myself all the time but it does create this self fulfilling situation when I am both my audience and my critique. Most times I find I am harsh to everyone around me and wonder if I am also within that level of harshness towards myself in all things. I think it is inappropriate to not consider things outside of my purview.

What does inappropriate really mean? Is it subjective? Is it shaped based on location, time and thinking. A hard act to sell when I think on what it means to be inappropriate or more precisely how it would be seen buy other people.

I ask this today because my daughter is going to some school excursion for Catholic youth but was walking around the house with a crop top getting ready to leave for it. Normally I sometimes, rarely allow it within me to accept them wearing it outside of the house but when I saw her my first thought was. That is an inappropriate top to be wearing to an excursion like this.

"You don't want to be that someone in a place supposed to be solemn."

Which lead me to ask myself what is it about inappropriateness that brings in the thoughts of fitting into a setting? I mean who would turn up to a club wearing a burqa? Time and place along with settings really determine the subjective meaning or application of inappropriateness.

Where am I going with this?

The simple answer is, it is really about subjective application given to the meaning since people and environment really does shape its character. Characteristic based on social norms. I am clear with what I see as society disappearing when you enter into my domain, my home, my house. I have a clear delineation between social norms outside my house and what the law is inside my house. To a degree. Since no human is ever really an island able to just stay in the one spot with no interaction with other islands, there will always be influences and stimuli that shape I subjectively see or feel.

Emotional memory plays a big part in everything too since I feel emotions are partly made up of hormones being released into the body, where from I have no clue but I really feel that is what happens. This means to me then emotion is a big factor in shaping most things one becomes in life and how their views are thought of.

My conclusion on what is inappropriate and its meaning is then how one sees things in their point of view, I mean why not since after all it really is based on how you accept and adapt a norm and its taboos. In cases where things, actions and or points of view running counter to all you agree on internally. Sounds so cliché when I repeat this to myself and read what I am writing right now even though I feel like it sounds so true. What will it take to then see that with all the myriad ways everyone is easily able to voice loudly what they want norms to be on other people for everyone to take notice and be able to make their own mind on how they are all shaped. Is it then surprising we often are finding ourselves questioning fundamentals all the time in confusion.

Thanks for visiting, hope this was not as confusing to you as it was to me in the end.

2
$ 0.27
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of akumagai
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for akumagai
1 year ago

Comments