My graduation (art) work and story

3 56
Avatar for adoniis
2 years ago

Hello, for my first real article here beside the introduction, I would like to tell you a story about my high school, and especially about my graduation work.

My high school

On my high school I studied 'Graphic design'. It was not exactly what I was interested in, but at the time it was the only affordable choice and the only high school around my area that had something to do with art.

Like honestly - they expect us to choose a career path for the rest of our life when we're still so young (15 y.o. in my country) and our hormones are confusing us about every little things - how are we supposed to do that? ๐Ÿ˜…

I honestly had no idea what I'd like to do back then and I still don't know even after 8 years. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Oops. What about you?

Well, I had no other choice but to stick to the only thing that ever interested me (art). I was so happy when I got accepted to the school (and eventually, 4 years later, graduated with almost all A's). ๐Ÿ˜Š

A bonus was that I got to study in a gorgeous city named Litomฤ›ล™ice and I got to meet some amazing people including my today's boyfriend (but next time about that ๐Ÿ˜).

Some of my high school friends and Litomฤ›ล™ice.

Now the art stuff!

At the end of our studies we needed to create a graphic design work and write a thesis about it. Almost everyone did some branding stuff - like logos, brochures, bussines cards and other stuff related to brand identity.

I wasn't interested in this in a slightest. I wanted to do drawings and art, not this boring stuff in Adobe Illustrator. ๐Ÿ˜‚

At the time I was completely in love with a TV show named Penny Dreadful. It's a horror series based in Victorian England with a bunch of original literature characters in it - Victor Frankenstein and his Monster, Dorian Gray, Jekyll and Hide etc. And it's honestly the best show I ever watched. Poetic, tragic, beautiful.

Moodboard made be me inspired by the show.

I decided to create 20 illustrations for a possible book based completely on the TV show. ๐Ÿ˜Š My illustrations focus mostly on the characters, but I draw some objects important to the story as well.

Here are some of the illustrations:

They are all hand-drawn with a pencil and later edited and colored in Photoshop. I chose 2 main colors (red and purple) as you can see. :) I wanted it to be simple, but in harmony - to appear as a one whole piece.

I also needed to do a book cover, which came out so good, in my opinion. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜Š Here it is:

Like honestly... Would you buy this book in a book store? I'd like to know. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Again I used some red and purple accents on the book cover to bind it with the illustrations. I like how dark it is and how the woman is just about to step out on the light.

Interesting fact: The scorpion symbol on the front cover is very important to the story because it's a representation of the main character named Vanessa. So I need to include it. ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

This is how the book woul look on the inside (also my design):

I noticed some errors in the work, especially in the thesis, but I need to say that I'm still very proud of the final result. ๐Ÿ˜Š

My teachers liked it and I've got an A for it (even though my presentation, where I was supposed to talk about it, was hell and unprofessional because I was nervous af ๐Ÿ˜…).

Alright... I will end this article here.

Do you like the artwork and the theme? Would the book caught your attention in a book store or not? And what was your graduation like? ๐Ÿ˜Š

Take care guys. โค๏ธ Thank you for reading!

Sponsors of adoniis
empty
empty
empty

11
$ 0.31
$ 0.20 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
$ 0.05 from @Sequoia
+ 1
Sponsors of adoniis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for adoniis
2 years ago

Comments

I congratulate you, you are an excellent artist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I really appreciate it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly we read English physics math in high , we don't have this option"graphics design". No doubt your artworks is superb and now have a great skill . By using this skill you easily work in any plateforms

$ 0.00
2 years ago