Miss you puppy

8 42
Avatar for adereign
2 years ago

About a year ago I lost my favorite pet who was accidentally killed by a drunkard. Puppy is the name of my dog, a name commonly given to dogs in my area. She was almost 4 years old and was not more than 2 kg weight. Originally she was gotten at a tender age, this makes her loved and friendly with everyone in the house. Puppy is a very cute dog we call there species local dog in Nigeria. They are different and rugged than assisians, Germany Shepherd, Rottweiler, bulldog, buba and other foreign dogs.

Puppy isn’t just cute, she has given birth to a lot of puppies, which I sold to make money. Although her size isn’t great, but a lot of people get scared of her, because she was protective. At night, she serves has an active night guard. She once cut a thief trying to jump over the fence one night, it was the alarm raise by her that alert everyone and didn’t all the theft succeed.

Most times when she sees strangers, she won't stop her barking or even the occasional nip of the ankles of a person. This she does to someone she doesn’t know, until we come out to see the person. She can be so aggressive as a dog whenever she is hungry. But when she gets comfortable enough with you, she’ll just want to lay, play with you and protect you. She more often than not tries to get you to feed her off your own dinner plate rather than eat out of her bowl. She wines until she finally manages to get some food from someone.

One thing I’ve never understood with her is why she chooses to sit in the sun until her tongue is hanging out of her head, and she is panting wildly. Eventually, when this happens we’ll always have to move her to the shade or inside or else she won’t move herself. Other dogs in our street, even calm ones won’t mess with puppy. She remains on edge until the other dog is out of sight; this being the case, puppy doesn’t have many friend dogs.

My mom is the closest with puppy because they spend the most time together in her food canteen. If puppy is ever with my mom it’s nearly impossible to separate the two of them. Because of the little crunches she gets from her. Most time those who eat in my mum canteen don’t finish up their food, she did give leftover to puppy.

Even though I own puppy, I’m not her “favorite” in the house, she loved to mess up my garden, so I do beat her at times. Last year, a vehicle ran into her, and she died immediately it was so painful. Puppy still remains a great dog, and I am lucky to have one of her last delivery as a replacement. We name her Teddy, which has also been part of my family now.

If you wanted to join the prompt feel free to do it. Here's the rules

The rules are simple.

  1. Join PromptlyJonica here

  2. Write anything on Pets

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Tag @JonicaBradley

Have fun!

12
$ 7.71
$ 7.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 5
Sponsors of adereign
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for adereign
2 years ago

Comments

Sorry about your dog, most drivers can be really reckless. Where you guys able to get hold of the driver?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so painful, you have to let go and get a new dog, though it can never replace puppy but at least, you will have it's memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks boss it not easy to but I will do as you have adviced

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about puppy. We all have different pets we do cherish and when something happen to them, we are hurt just because we care about them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Puppies are not just man's best friend. They are also our siblings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really like pets so much so that I hardly did not have any pet when I was growing up

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Missing pets is like missing family members, because we treat them like our own family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right ma, I still feel bad about it a lot of times

$ 0.00
2 years ago