If I have a number to my younger self

0 13
Avatar for abrilata
3 weeks ago

Should I call my younger self? I’m not sure I’d have the courage to say, ‘Hey, life’s got its ups and downs, but you’ll be okay.’ I wish l have that same bravery like Alex Warren does in his latest song, ‘You’ll Be Alright, Kid.’ Honestly, I still find myself wondering if I’ll really be alright. Will I be alright?

But If I could call my younger self, I’d pick up the phone and say,

I know you’re only twelve and the world feels a bit confusing right now, but I want you to know I’m really enjoying life in my twenties — or at least, I’m holding up pretty well.

You see, kid, right now, it’s all about enjoying life despite everything. I want you to embrace the life you have without questioning it too much. Yes, you’ll lose people along the way, and that’s okay — some will come and go, but the true ones will stick around. You won’t need Billions of people to keep you sane. Just those who really see you. There will be times you cry over broken friendships or feel left behind, but trust me. You will do the same then you’ll understand and get through it.

Is it really a bad thing? I don’t think so, especially now that we value self-love more than ever. It may seem selfish, but trust me, it can be beneficial — though not always. There will be days when you’ll find yourself staring at the ceiling, wondering where all your friends have gone. I once read it somewhere that when two people end their connection, they barely see each other because life takes them to different timelines and direction and their soul’s paths just aren’t aligned anymore. I think that makes sense. You’ll worry about missing birthdays, parties, or reunions, but that’s okay; they’ll understand. So, never blame yourself for not being always available to others.

People grow older; Your parents started getting white hair and lines and freckles on their faces. They’re not as energetic as they once were and have started wearing glasses too. It can be heartbreaking to see how time has taken their youth to give you the life you’ve always wanted. I’m not saying this to make you feel guilty; rather, I want to emphasize the importance of loving them more deeply.

If you can, please make sure to spend more time with your family. Looking back, I see that while I did spend time with them, it was often just during my spare time instead of making them a priority.

You might be wondering what will happen next, and I’m here to tell you that it may not be as awesome as you imagined. Life is full of twists and turns, and like you, I often wonder where this road will lead. But wherever it takes us, I believe it will be worth it.

You might find yourself asking why, seeking answers. At times, you’ll feel confused and believe that no one understands. You will blame yourself, ou might blame yourself and feel a pain that’s deeper than any scraped knee. You’ll want to call your mom, but deep down, you’ll realize it’s not something that a kiss can heal. Sometimes, the struggles feel too big for even the best hugs. There will be days when you feel careless, numb, and lost, but remember you’re human too and that’s okay. Healing takes time.

But above all, I want to tell you the most important thing: don’t grow up too fast. Take the time to play outside. Catch those dragonflies, toss around some amorseko, and stay curious about everything, like eyefloaters- or if Dr. Horton is real. Collect helicopter seeds and toss them as high as you can, watch them spin down. Stare at the afternoon sunlight streaming through the kitchen window. Face the sun, press your eyelids closed, then open your eyes and notice how everything appear as a beautiful blue tint. I mean, It’s hard to explain but always be kind and Take your time to feel and appreciate even the smallest things.

You will miss them when you grow up.

I know it won’t be easy getting here. but you’ll be alright. I know it’s a tiring journey but don’t give up. I’ll carry you and we’ll make it together. We’ll get there kid,

We’ll get there.

.

1
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from Anonymous user(s)
A
Sponsors of abrilata
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for abrilata
3 weeks ago

Comments