Vaccination Diaries

6 55

New technologies make us apprehensive about everything in a way or another. There’s always that worry at the back of our minds that is hard to totally get rid of, and that is understandable because the unknown can be scary.

But personally, the anxiety of the “what if’s” is just as frightening that is why I try to just embrace a given situation inasmuch as I can (and worry about them later…. I guess. Half-kidding).

I live with a mindset of getting to do something than not be able to do anything at all; The embodiment of YOLO-ing (You Only Live Once) without forgetting to be a responsible individual especially when it comes to my actions. We can explore but we should always hold ourselves accountable of our every action.

This is maybe one of the reasons why I am grateful that I did make the best of what I have when I still have it. Say, I was able to pursue some of my dream travels before any of these travel restrictions due to the pandemic have happened. I work hard but I also make it a point to enjoy my hard-earned fruits of my labor. I am glad that I have spent more time with my loved ones back when you would not worry about gathering and getting inflicting with certain diseases. I am somehow happy that I did show them and continuously show them that I care, especially those who are not with us anymore. I am not really vocal about how I care (at least in person) and I don't say "I love you" all the time, but I try to show it through my actions, little notes and giving them bits of my time (despite you know, being busy with life and all).

So I live with the now, and so, when the vaccination idea has been presented with the team, I was one of those who said yes without having second thoughts -- because I think I've lived with all my might even at 30 and there'll be no regrets. If anything, I will be safer as it can prevent getting severe complications because of the virus. You just got to trust the whole process.

I remember seeing viral posts about the old vaccination passes from the Americans during the height of the polio outbreak. And even then, if they didn't trust the medical solutions, the medical technologies would not be where it is right now. Polio, influenza and other outbreaks that are fatal back in the day are all treatable at present. All because they took the risk and trusted the medical experts of their time.

It will be too naive of us to think that everything will be back to the normal that we know after all of this COVID scare is gone, but we can always look forward and be at ease with the new normal.

Going back to the main topic, I would have been already vaccinated as early as August but something that I never would have expected happened: I got sick with cold and cough just a week before the expected vaccination schedule. Imagine managing to be healthy for the whole lockdown period only to be sick on the week before the schedule? Such a bummer, right?

It is the first time ever that I had colds so bad that I lost my sense of smell for a day. But thank the heavens it's nothing really as serious as COVID and it is treatable, so I only had the usual cough medicines and every natural remedy known to man. I drank ginger, turmeric and lemon tea. I did try steam inhalation or "suob". I only drank warm water and stayed away from chocolate and sweets. I kept hydrated with two liters of water everyday at the least.

But almost a month has passed and my cough (mild as it is) still won't be healed. And so I went to a doctor for a checkup. She recommended for me to have my x-ray taken and as it turned out, I had right lower lobe pneumonia. Apparently this is also the reason why even though I have been taking cough medicines, nothing is happening and I am not getting better: because cough medicines won't work on this case. The doctor then gave me prescription of antibiotics and other vitamins and so after two weeks, I am now completely healed.

It is also such a blessing that my work setup during the whole pandemic season is work-from-home. I still get to be paid and get to accomplish my tasks as I am receiving medications. It also prevented me from getting to interact and get in contact with too many people (so the risk of getting inflicted with the virus is lower).

And just this Friday, through our LGU and my aunt's help, I was able to secure a vaccination schedule/slot and finally I had my first dose of the Pfizer brand. Luckily, I only had the common side effects such as having heavy arm and a slight pain near the shoulder area which lasted for two days. I drank some paracetamol just to be safe. I didn't get severe fever or chills of sort in which I am grateful.

They say that the second dose is stronger and it may lead to more side effects but I think I will be ready.

I hope you are all doing well and are healthy. Our health is truly a wealth these days especially.

Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

Thank you to my lovely sponsors especially to @Bloghound and @gertu13 who have recently renewed their sponsorships. I don't have a lot and I am not even too active but I hope I am not boring you with my contents. I think with the recent improvement of my health I will be able to be more active in here too.

Praying for your good health!

See you all around x

6
$ 1.64
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @CoquiCoin
+ 1
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I hope that you are fully recovered. And It's good that you were able to get vaccinated. I already received both doses of my vaccine. And I had some discomfort in the first dose, but in the second I didn't have any side effects. Hopefully, you won't have any.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much. I am fully recovered now, good as new. I am scheduled for the second dose of Pfizer on the first week of November. I am glad you already had yours and that there is no serious side effects. Some of the people I know got chills and fever on their second dose of a different brand but yes, I look forward to being fully vaccinated too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I still don't know when will I be able to get vaccinated LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hala why? I hope you'd get to have your vax schedule too soon heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Certainly what you write. We must be responsible for our decisions. I too am in respiratory distress and have not been able to get vaccinated because of that. Always healthy but not now. I hope you will regain your full vitality.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, I hope you also be fully healed you can have your vaccine shot. Better be safe

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago