Baking Filipino muffins aka Kababayan

11 37

Whenever I have an extra time, one of my ways to ease into our “new normal” is to bake. It is also one of my instant stress relievers. I lowkey enjoy punching into my dough. Kidding aside, the smell of freshly baked bread relaxes me and it makes me feel like I did well whenever I am coming up with a batch of a dozen or two.

One of the easiest to make is probably sugar cookies. To be honest though, I only tried to learn to bake them to make use of the cute BT21 cookie cutters that I bought online but the end products amaze me everytime. My friends are even encouraging me to sell them! Who knows what would happen in the future, I might. But for now, I just bake some of these goodies as gifts to my friends in those few times that we did get to set a meet up and hangout in this pandemic situation.

My TATA and CHIMMY sugar cookies!

Sugar cookies are perfect match to tea and coffee as it balances the sweetness out. There are some kinds that need frosting but the recipe that I found online can stand alone and the sugar cookies tasted real good, too.

The other one is the typical chocolate chip cookies that my cousin used to bake. The cookies are soft and chewy and it feels like she has already mastered baking it.

The one that takes a lot of time and effort is the actual bread bun with yeast but all of those efforts are worth it whenever they compliment on how soft the buns are. Cinnamon buns are my specialty and I really love baking them. You know that bread that you can buy in Starbucks? It tastes exactly like that minus the whipped cream cheese on top. I always opt to not put it because the bread itself is sweet and tasty already

But what I am going to share here is how to make “Kababayan” bread which is like the local version of a muffin. It is a staple bread in every bakery that you will find in here. Also, it is easier because it doesn’t need yeast to make it rise so it would take lesser time to make them. The only rising component that you will be needing are baking powder and soda.

For the ingredients, you will be needing:

Wet ingredients:

  • 1 tsp salt

  • 2 eggs

  • 3/4 cup milk

  • 1/2 cup oil (to make it soft and moist)

  • 2 tbsp vanilla syrup

Dry Ingredients:

Preheat your oven to 175 degree Celcius while you are buttering the muffin pan that you will be using. You can opt to have them straight to the pan or use these cupcake paper cups (like what I did) to minimize spill and so that you won’t be needing to wash/clean the pan every single batch. (Or maybe I am just lazy but efficient hehe) Also, the paper cups give the bread a simple but cute “aesthetic” so if you are after the Instagram-able final product, you can also opt to do that.

Then you can start baking the bread for 12-15 minutes.

And voila, here you go! The delicious Kababayan bread that my grandparents love!

That came out pretty nicely, right? Next time I’d like to try making some marble cakes. Can‘t wait to show you when I managed to do that.

Until then!

A

5
$ 0.28
$ 0.10 from @CrazyRichFilipina
$ 0.09 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.05 from @francescawrites
+ 2
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Oh I've never heard of the term kababayan bread until now. Hehe. Well maybe you can try selling those to earn some extra cash. Food naman e laging mabili kahit saan. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe thank you! Medyo common siya sa mga bakery sa probinsya pero ayun, kailangan ko muna iperfect hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah gnun pala. Hehe. Ok good luck.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohmyg, favorite!!! Hala namiss ko gumala sa bakery to get one. Parang mapapaluto na lang ako dahil sa recipe mo. Thanks for sharing this article of yours. Surely, I will try to bake some too.

By the way, why not sell some online? Try mo sa FB, definitely may bibili. Best of luck!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

G na! Napakadali niya iprepare hehe kumuha lang rin ako ng guide sa ibang recipe para sa tamang dami ng ingredients pero ayun hahalu-haluin lang rin talaga sila.

Maybe someday I’d get to sell them. I need to practice some more hehe thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooooh kababayan. Our go-to merienda back when there's a bakery near our house. wew. :) A couple of that and a small bottle of soda, and you're good to go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good ol’ memories! Yes, same here ☺️ I’m glad I can bake them on my own now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yeeeaahh so much memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are those pictures yours? They look so delicious 😍🤤 Also, you can turn your baking skills into a business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes those are the kababayans that I baked 😅 thank you so much!! It’s just a hobby for now

$ 0.00
2 years ago