Malfeasance & Mindfulness: Tipping The Right Way

4 68
Avatar for Zemuszero
3 years ago

For Memo.cash, community cohesion and general decency is predicated in large part on the honor system of it's users. Indeed, personal responsibility and the code of ethics to which we adhere shapes nearly all of the commerce and peer interaction on our network. Poor decision-making and outright fraud by a number of users has lowered community sentiment, effectively driving away positive personalities that would otherwise frequent Memo for it's intended use. Some of you read my first submission for Read.cash: A Sour Affair: Thoughts on Fraud Awareness, wherein I described criteria that anyone could use to read the runes, identifying abusers of the honor system before entering amounts and hitting the like button. If the article had it's intended effect, you've since incorporated the scruples into regular, everyday tips and donations for those who actually deserve it. Unfortunately, the meddlers persist in their ways: Capitalizing on Memo's anonymous format and user-friendly tipping system by registering dozens of accounts, using lies and deceit to prey upon charitable regulars for their satoshis. Another instance happened earlier today, on 11/18/20. Make what you will of the following, but pay attention to the signs, perhaps using them to tip the right way:

  • User 'Kayie', our fraudster of the day, offering a final vote of confidence to assure Uther of good intentions:

  • Kayie posting a video, per Uther's request, to verify her handle and demonstrate authenticity. Here is where the story grows suspicious, notice the user photo uploaded to youtube:

  • The video's uploader image is consistent with another memo handle, one Shiela Marie.

  • A snapshot of the youtube page confirming it belongs to Shiela Marie.

  • Here she's attempted to cover her tracks by uploading a different image to her memo account, shortly after the video is uploaded.

  • Taken at 3:44 PM, Shiela has changed both name and photo on her youtube page, this time to KYRIE Lii.

  • A final screenshot where Shiela has removed Kayie's image from the page with a name change: another act of subterfuge to keep from being exposed.

Exercise your right to be informed. Where the honor system fails, we have the tools to secure our community against people like Shiela and others by tipping the right way.

-Z

Dedicated to Uther, a man doing good deeds in a weary world.

PS: Don't tip me here, I can't ever get my wallet to work!!!!

7
$ 4.67
$ 4.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
Avatar for Zemuszero
3 years ago

Comments

"PS: Don't tip me here, I can't ever get my wallet to work!!!!"
Honest.Cash did that like forever and ever.
I wonder what the problem is - mine seems to work okay,
but what I did may have fixed it:
If I remember correctly (!) I created a wallet elsewhere and imported it.
I had been using Badger for the ID (definitely a single-point-of-failure) - never ever again.


As for the rest of your wonderful expose
be aware of three things:

  • many of those people simply need life-coaches and retasking.
  • we must bury the truly toxic ones in real, genuine. content. (that is all that is necessary):
    . This sets a high bar which challenges us as to whether we deserve our freedom.
    . [this was the epiphany which prompted https://memo.cash/a/012692876b ]
  • everyone else on the internet is 'holding their breath' to see how we deal with this,
  • which makes for awesome popcorn time.
$ 0.00
3 years ago

Memo has suffered from Uther's begging brigade, it's been going on ages. I think I'm over 60 "please sir Uther" accounts muted lol. ( I lol but it's a bit annoying as it takes time to mute them fake ass accounts, sats too) But.... It's not just the begging Uther accounts that have damaged memo. The token scammers are just as equal to blame. If not more so.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't tip me here, I can't ever get my wallet to work!!!! Did you forget your seed?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The site never recognizes my device and gave me a new wallet, I have 4 in total now and only saved the initial phrase upon setup. That’s a large part of my rationale for writing infrequently here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago