Replacing an old thing

2 44
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Investment

There are various things in life that make living much easier. One of those is a smartphone.

I remember the days when I was in elementary and I would borrow my father's phone just so I could play simple games. When I was in Grade 3, my classmates started to get their own phones which are already colored while I would receive mine a few months late and it was an older model of Nokia. Still, I was happy and grateful for that. I know my parents worked hard for it.

Some of my classmates tried to make me feel bad for the phone I have. I admit that in the past, my younger self wss hurt over it. But now looking back, the kids in my class were just being unnecessarily rude and mean. It was uncalled for and definitely not worth remembering. However, since that day, I began to place less importance on material things because even as a child I know that I will not be able to buy the latest trend and I am okay with that.

Utility over clout

I have never been one to want the latest gadget in the market just for the sake if having it. Sure, the main reason is because I can not afford those kinds of gadgets anyway. But even when I do have the money for it, I just never found the apoeal of spending incredible amount of money for one thing.

This is the reason why I have lived by the way of only replacing things once it no longer serves its purpose. This way of living gave me much freedom financially as it allows me to place more importance on other things beside having the latest model of every gadget that comes out.

Phone as a necessity

In this time and age, it is undeniable that mobile phones play a huge part in our daily lives. It is used to communicate with others amongst other purposes such as entertainment and as storage of memories. This led many people to be willing to spend thousands of their hard-earned money to buy a new phone every year.

For me, phones are mostly used for communication. There is an additional point though if I can use it for academic works and side hustle stuff. With this being said, I have to say that I splurged more on my laptop than on my phone. The phone that I have been using for the past six years is actually a gift given to me by my parents for my 18th birthday.

This is what my phone looked like after many years of service. I know it looks horrible. I have to defend myself and say that this is not actually the phone I have been using for six years. This is actually my father's phone but I gave him my relatively newer phone last, last year because he needed it for his job. I did not hesitate to trade my phone because his phone is still usable. So for the last two years, I have been using this battered phone.

As you can see it was already on the verge of being broken. But I did not want to replace it before because I can still use it. Unfortunately, for the past few weeks, I have been having a hard time typing and using the phone so I decided it was time to replace it.

The difficult decision

The reason why I put off buying a new phone as long as I can is because I did not know what I want to look for in a phone. I am not really into searching about the good specs for what phone to use. Still, I know that I do want to enjoy my money's worth.

When I asked my sister to go to the mall with me, I did not have any specific model in mind nor a strict budget. So when the saleslady presented a phone from the Honor brand, I listened.

According to her, Honor is part of the Huawei brand but the advantage is that Honor can use Google related services unlike its Huawei counterpart. Additionally, the storage and other specifications of the phone seems good.

But I did not decide immediately even though I was already considering her offer. First of all, it was my first time hearing about the Honor brand so I decided to search if what the saleslady is telling is true. It ended up being true so I told my sister that we can go ahead and buy it.

This is the new phone that I bought. Actually this will be a gift from my sister. I just paid for it in cash now since I have the money for it. She will just pay me slowly over time. I also like it better this way since she will not have to take a loan out and will not have to pay in installment with interest.

The pictures of my new phone was taken using my old phone.

This is the sample picture taken using my new phone. I think you guys can see the difference in the image qualities.

I will be doing a separate article on what I like about the phone after using it for a bit. And yes, the new phone is the reason why I was starting to be active again on noise.app since the camera is nice and the screen is not cracked.

5
$ 0.13
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Investment

Comments

Same tayo sis when I was a kid. Hinihiram ko phone ni mama and it makes me happy na a lot. Simple games lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was a kid I wanted to have my own mobile phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago