Outlining Short Stories

0 34
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

As I have mentioned in my previous posts, I am not much of a short story writer. I am more inclined to write short poems and research papers than articles, essays, or short stories. I don't also know why, it is just something that I find daunting to try.

Today, I wanted to share with you guys the first time I outlined a short story idea that I had a few months ago. I have also been better at coming up with ideas that might be interesting than actually writing them.

The short story I wanted to make is about a Japanese mythological creature known as Bunagaya. From what I remember in the short research I conducted, these creatures are known for their pranks and are said to have been friends with humans before the war.

This is just made in a random burst of inspiration so forgive any inconsistencies. I was fascinated with the idea when I learned of the word Bunagaya and I just could not stop thinking about it until I finally surrender, and wrote an outline. Now, I am being haunted by the idea again, which probably means I should start actually writing the story properly.

Outline of the Bunagaya short story

1. The girl is shown inside her room, trying hard to not listen to her parents’ hurried whisper

2. She helps with the groceries and would usually help her older neighbors by bringing their products in the market.

3. She’s warned to follow the path and to never stray from it, lest she encountered the Bunagaya.

4. She sticks to her routine but one day, she noticed a wounded bird off the path.

5. Its wounded cries caught her attention and she wandered off the path to help the bird.

6. She took it home to nurse it not noticing the eyes of the Bunagaya watching her upside down from a tree.

7. Bird finally gets better and girl decided to let the bird free in the spot where she found it.

8. She happily watch it flies and follow it not noticing she’s strayed off the path.

9. Thunder thunder, it’s getting dark and she’s in an unfamiliar place

10. The bird has already found a haven in the trees, she’s alone

11. Rain starts to fall, she hurriedly tries to retrace her footsteps but the rain slowly washed away her footprints

12. Cue to her parents and grandparents wondering where she is.

13. Cue to her finding a wide gap in a tree

14. She decided to take shelter in it because of the rain, and she found that it is a lot spacious than she thought it would be.

15. She unknowingly found the bunagaya’s home

16. Wet and shivering she decided to explore the space and she heard noises coming from deep within

17. She got curious and followed it, there she found the bunagaya huddled against each other comforting each other through the noise of the thunderstorms.

18. She tried to leave, but she accidentally slipped because of the wet floor

19. The bunagaya stand, alert and ready to fire their bunagaya fires hehe

20. She remembered hearing once that should she met bunagaya, she should smile or if she can slowly stretch out a hand for a handshake

21. She did that, the bunagaya looked at her as if seeing everything she hides (He def can), saw that she came with no harm intended and was lost because of helping nature and they let her stay and keep their fires going to warm her.

22. Parents are worried child not home

23. They along with other neighbors decided to look for her when the dawn wakes

24. She wakes up to the smell of fish

25. She was introduced to the bunagaya

26. One bunagaya came back to inform them of the townspeople around the forest

27. They urge her to eat faster so she can go home

28. She got home and she did not tell them about the bunagaya

29. Every day after that, she would leave little presents for them,

30. One day they were waiting for her and they got to know each other

31. Two bunagaya were especially fond of her

32. They would teach her how to swim and fish

33. They would listen to her about what’s happening out there

34. They would sometimes help her with her chores so they can spend time together

35. She taught them how ppl make fire using sticks and stones, she taught them how to use herbs to make fish more delicious

36. They became the best of friends but war is looming, and one winter the bomb went down

37. Everything is in chaos, she worried about her friends while she’s hiding in the shelter with her family

38. After the war, she sneak out to try and see her friends, but they weren’t there anymore. She tried to look for them in place where she first saw them but there was no trace of their existence.

39. She left her red ribbon there, with a note about how she is well and she hopes they are too.

40. Her family went back to the city, where she finished her education. She came back for her grandma’s funeral

41. After the wake, she found herself on that path again, and she saw a streak of red flashing on the corner of her eyes but it was gone in a second

42. She walked towards the stream where the bunagaya taught her how to fish and to swim and “she slowly turns back to her past and the bunagaya joined her and they laughed and smiled”

How I made the outline

The first thing I did was to tell my friends about this idea I had. I messaged them about it first to see if the idea will stick and if it will make sense to someone who will read it. When the version of my idea passed their taste, I moved on to making an outline.

First, I decided on the style that I wanted to write it to. It is a short story that incorporates a lot of magical elements which made me think that it will be great if it is written in a children's books' way of writing.

Then I realized that if that is the case, I wanted to make some illustrations to go along with it. Which is how I set up my outline. This outline is also like a written storyboard if you have noticed. I try to visualize the scenes as they are happening and take note of everything that I find interesting.

The thing that I found about writing an outline is that it is important to let the story tells itself. Just allow the words and ideas to flow freely and don't offer resistance even when things do not make sense in your mind.

My reasoning is that I can always change it to something else once I am in the writing phase. Lastly, I think it is helpful to remember why I made an outline in the first place.

It was not because I wanted a complete story with no plot hole in sight, it was just that I wanted my writing to have some direction somehow. I remind myself that stressing about making an outline is not good because my main goal is to just enjoy writing down my ideas so that I will have a place to start when I finally do get around to writing the short story.

Closing remarks

Truthfully, this idea really terrifies me, not because it deals with a scary topic but because it is a topic that I honestly find intriguing. I am hesitant to actually work on it because I am afraid that my writing skills will not do the idea justice. This is why I am sticking to sharing this outline with you guys until I finally gained enough courage to try writing the story.

3
$ 2.98
$ 2.98 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments