Don't be mistaken

3 25

The nearer August comes, the lazier I get. I used to publish an article right after I wake up before I even eat my breakfast but now it will be dinner time soon and I am just starting to write. Oh well, at least I still find the time and energy to write.

Anyway, today's article is brought on by me suddenly remembering a line from a webtoon that I have read. The sentence goes: "Don't mistake luck for privilege." It is from His Majesty's Proposal by Bloomy and INUS.

Let's talk about the webtoon first

Now, this webtoon gives some isekai vibes but I do not thinknit is exactly isekai. The main character is reincarnated into the daughter of a Baron in this world. This leads to her being more rough around the edges than what was expected of royals.

I do not want to go into too much details since I am going to spoil a part of webtoon soon. I would like anyone who got curious to enjoy it without knowing what will happen.

The thing about this webtoon is that I love the settings, and the world building even though it is only starting. I love how the creators give such complexity to the fact that the MC has lived another life before being reborn.

But there is of course some problematic thing about this webtoon especially regarding consent. So if you are looking for a good healthy romance story, this will not be it. Imanaged to get through the questionable parts by skimming through it instead if letting me question a fiction into my own moral stamdard in the real world. So that is just a heads up if you are someone prickly about the *perfect* romance. Don't worry, someday I will share favorite romance story of mine as well.

Now let's move to the juicy part

This happened when the main character, Penelope, encountered her ex-fianceé and his new wife when she was shopping for clothes with her bestfriend.

The villaness Countess was taunting our main character who of course did not back down to the challenge. I mean MC already lives a life full of humiliation before, I am pretty sure she really could handle the mean Countess inba battle of words.

But the pressure took to a different height when an old woman got into the store to ask for some coins. The Countess then shoved the poor lady with face full of disgust.

Image from the webtoon: His Majesty's Proposal | WEBTOON

Yeah, that is some rudeness over there. The lady just wanted some coins that the Countess probably did not even need.

This scene triggers a past life memory of Penelope where other people also did some cruel things to her just because she was old and all alone.

Being the firebreather that she is, she could not stop herself from giving the Countess a memorable lecture.

Image from the webtoon: His Majesty's Proposal | WEBTOON

Bruising the face of a Countess as a Baron's daughter is an incredibly brave, if super stupid, move. That just goes to show that our MC will not stand by when she see other people being misteeated by some snotty noble who thinks she is higher than everyone else.

And then she delivers the line that inspired this article, with some spicy language included. (Sorry to all minors who are reading this.)

Image from the webtoon: His Majesty's Proposal | WEBTOON

When this happened, I was cheering for her in my head and I could not stop but think about the words.

My thoughts

Penny is the woman I eant to become, just kidding. But I do want her bravery to stand up for when she knows is right. I like her fighting spirit as well.

Don't mistake luck for privilege.

-Penelope Zecalion, His Majesty's Proposal

I agree with her words so much. A lot of people think that just because they are lucky enough to receive what they have, the think that they are above others who are not as lucky.

For example, many people in first world countries belittle people from the third world countries. There are even this notion of if you come from a third world country then you are only after the money of everyone else.

The distinction in their minds that they are superior because of the place they live in reeks in every words they say and write. And no matter how open minded they may seem, sooner or later their savior complex comes out. As if their culture is the only right culture and that other cultures are barbaric.

It is luck that you are born in a first world country. It is luck that you have been provided with everything you will ever need.

That luck does not give you the privilege to look down on others just because they were not as lucky as you. Your claim of being self made is nonsense when you are born into affluent family, when you already have connections whatever aspirations you might have. You are just lucky to receive what you have.

Well, let's not get too far. This mistake also happens inside our country too. In the Philippines, people from the NCR bullies those who came from Visayas because they speak differently.

We were just lucky to be born into where we are. Lucky to receive the things we have gotten. It does not have us any right to bring someone down nor does it give us a pass in judging them.

No one has any power to belittle someone just because they are not as lucky as you are. Everytime you feel the urge to call someone something derogatory, I hope you would stop and think of what you will be of you weee in their shoes. You never know the battles everyone face, so stop being unkind. It is so easy to be kind. So easy to just skip past something you do not like to see.

Don't mistake luck for privilege. You are lucky enough to have everything you want. No need to bring down others just because you can.

This is all that I want to say today. I mean if oeople continue acting so high and arrogant, they might meet a Penny in real life too, who will not be afraid to put them to their place. So, being kind is easier right? We are after all learning to be better individuals everyday.



Images source with webtoon's summary:

His Majesty's Proposal | WEBTOON

A broken engagement and one too many drinks are the catalysts for a mistake that will change Penelope Zecalion’s life forever, as she finds herself waking up in bed with the emperor! Grouchy, foul-mouthed Penelope is reluctant to let the emperor into her heart after her first engagement went so wrong. Can the emperor change her mind and win her heart?

https://www.webtoons.com/en/fantasy/his-majestys-proposal/list?title_no=2674

Thank you everyone for reading! If you want to know more of my webtoon reading experience, feel free to let me know so that I can prepare more (I have a LOT).

Also, did you notice the lead image? HAHA I decided to make a similar looking ones in preparation for August since I want to make my account look more put together instead of just randomly using free images. So now, I am using the title as the lead image. I see this a lot from the other authors I follow, so thank you so much for inspiring me guys!

5
$ 2.72
$ 2.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 1
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I must say you are a webtoon lover. Your writings are proof. I love watching it than reading it. 🥰

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yep.. that is true no one is privilege enough to belittle anyone... let's just spread kindness and make the world around us a better place

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I've since learned to use the term blessed instead of lucky whenever something really good happens to me. To be lucky relies on chance. But to be blessed... well that's from a higher Source watching over you. And if your mindset is being blessed, then you are less likely to act privileged, since you know what you have been given or born with did not happen at a snap of a finger.

$ 0.06
2 years ago