Confusing Terms (pt 2)

0 22
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Topics: Writing

As promised, there will be another article related to confusing terms that I normally see in different articles, not only in read.cash but everywhere.

Again, I would like to make it clear that this article is in no way encouraging people to bully or leave unsolicited criticism to other people's articles. Do not correct someone who is not asking for corrections because it means they are not yet in the place where they can grow from criticisms. It is not hard to just scroll past a badly written article someone made for fun. It takes zero effort to not rain on someone else's parade so please just do not take this article as a go signal for doing that.

This article is written to share some information with people who might one day need to write professionally.

  1. To, Too

    To is a preposition that starts an infinitive or a prepositional phrase.

    Example:

    I have something that I need to do but I keep getting distracted.

    Too is an adverb that is similar to the word also or excessively.

    Example:

    He knows that she loves him so but he wishes that she can see how much her clinginess is not just "cute" but suffocating too.

  2. Should of, Should have

    Should have means that something did not happen, but we wish it had happened. The preposition of should never be used in place of the helping verb have. This means that should of is incorrect. The proper way of writing it is "should have".

    Example:

    "I should have asked her to dance with me back then."

    This is the correct sentence and not this:

    "I should of asked her to dance with me back then."

  3. Than, Then

    Than is used in comparisons.

    Example:

    The quality of the pictures taken outdoors is better than the ones taken indoors due to the difference in lighting.

    Then is an adverb that indicates time.

    Example:

    I feed my puppy first and only then will I eat my own breakfast.

  4. Your, You're

    Your is the possessive form of the pronoun you. It indicates that something belongs to you.

    Example:

    Your life is something that only you have a say in; don't let others dictate the direction to follow.

    You’re is simply a contraction of the words you and are.

    Example:

    You're an inspiration to someone even if they never say it so do not stop doing what you love doing.

  5. Who, Whom

    Who should be used to refer to the subject of a sentence.

    Example:

    She really showed them who she trusts when she refused to touch the drink they offered her.

    Whom should be used to refer to the object of a verb or preposition. The best tip I can give in differentiating when to use who and whom is if you can replace it with “him” or “her,” use whom.

    Example:

    The family had dozen of cats, five of whom were adopted strays.

Those are all the terms that I can think of for today. If I ever remembered more terms, I will be sure to share them with you guys again. I hope that I was able to provide some information that you can use in the future.


If you want to read more of my articles, I have made a list of all the past articles I published to make it easier for you to find one that might catch your interest.

Here is the link for my May 2021 articles: https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/may-2021-articles-summary---59e3f5b8

Here is the 1st week of June 2021 articles: https://read.cash/@ZehraSky/week-1-june-2021-articles-summary-6e15cf71

Thank you for reading, everyone!

3
$ 0.19
$ 0.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Topics: Writing

Comments