A Journey To Last

7 31
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

I have always been a scaredy cat when it comes to travelling alone. I never trust myself to be safe, as I was prone on getting lost even though I have map application handy on my phone. Deciding to go on a solo trip made me received a lot of criticisms as the people who knows me knew that I am the worst person to deal with in terms of direction. Haha!

Those negative comments I've heard didn't stop me from doing what scares me the most, to go alone. It happened during the time I felt I haven't accomplished anything in life, yet. While scrolling online, I came across this Travel and Tours page. After inquiring about the itineraries and payment plan, without a thought, I made a slot reservation.

The day finally came where I went to my most desired place to visit here in the Philippines, Vigan, Ilocos Sur!

Day 0

7PM- Meetup at MOA

7:30PM- 2ND batch meetup at Centris Mall

10:35PM- Stopover at Clark, Pampanga

11PM- DEPARTURE

DAY 1

4AM- ETA Vigan

5:15AM- ETA/Breakfast at Hidden Garden

6:30- Souvenir Shop

7AM- Start of tour **We we're given freedom to go where we want to go as long as we meet up at the given time**

>Baluarte

>Vigan Cathedral

>Calle Crisologo

>Paoay

>Sand Dunes/Sand Boarding

3PM- Late lunch *We had foodtrip in each stops so we're not that hungry*

5:30PM- ETA at accommodation

Supposedly, part of our itinerary is to go to the MalacaƱang of the North, but due to extreme tiredness, we all agreed to go to our hotel accommodation. Our tour guide even laughed at us for not saying it earlier. We we're all tired and went to bed immediately, since the eatery around the hotel were closed.

Day 2

6AM- Breakfast at the hotel

9AM- Pagudpud

>Blue Lagoon

>Banana Boat

>Lunch x Drinking Session

*It's quite disappointing that Hannah's zipline was closed at our time of visit*

12:45PM- ETD

1:10PM- Bantay Abot Cave

>Patapat Viaduct

2:43PM- Bangui Windmills

3:33PM- Kapurpurawan Rock Formation

4:31PM- Cape Bojedor Lighthouse *I was too tired to climbed up the stairs of the Lighthouse, so I skipped this part of the tour (my excuse for being afraid of the ghost stories I've heard on our way)*

6:30PM- Dinner

8PM- Arrival on our hotel

9PM-2AM - Continuation of our Drinking session along the other tour group

Day 3

6:30AM- Breakfast at the hotel

7:30AM- ETD

10AM- ETA Old Quirino Bridge

> Souvenir Center

**Sidetrip**

1PM- Grape Farm La Union

7PM- ETA MOA

This is honestly the best tour I had! The people I was with during the entire tour were all accommodating and friendly. Diversed from couples, family, friends to OFW's. I felt really safe around them. I never felt out of place as they were all approachable and even took a picture of me, voluntarily.

Tips for first time Solo Travel

> Make sure to request for a room away from couple or pay extra for your own room. I almost got in the same room with the couple in our group, not that I have something against them but I don't want to intrude their privacy, you know. Good thing is I was able to talked to the group of Titas, our OFW group, for me to stay in their room.

> Packed your things beforehand. Make sure you have everything you needed handy because you'll never know what will happen.

> Bring monopod/tripod. I was just lucky that they took solo picture of me. But in cases where you have no one to take a photo of you, at least you have the right equipment, or you can simply ask your peers to take a photo of you.

> Have extra budget. Even though I planned ahead what I will buy during the trip, I can't helped but be out of the budget for things I tried as my firsts.

> E-wallet. Most souvenir shops accepts GCash payment.

> Enjoy and keep your loved ones updated

Total Expenses

  • Travel and Tours Fee- P3,499 (*add P1,400 for solo room)

    • This includes:

      > Roundtrip Van transfer MNL-Ilocos

      > Hotel accommodation

      > 2 day complimentary breakfast

      > Entrance Fees, Complete Tour, Gas, Toll and Driver's fee

  • Exclusions:

    > Lunch/Dinner- starts at P180

    > Empanada snacks- ranging from P40 to P60 per piece

    > 4x4 Sand Dunes Ride- P500/pax for 6

    > Blue Lagoon Cottage- P250

    > 30 mins Banana Boat- P500/pax for 5

    > Alcoholic drinks and snacks (optional)- P250/pax

    > Souvenirs- P2000

I know I can do better on my next trip in terms of budgeting.


Writer's Note

How are you? Manju's back! Since Zehra had been busy lately, I took initiatives to takeover her read.cash account once in a while to keep it active. Expect more travel articles from here onwards!

6
$ 2.84
$ 2.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.01 from @WanderingMedStudent
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
1 year ago

Comments

I love the concept of traveling the night before the actual tour started, in that case, hindi nabawasan yung time niyo to tour the place. I've been to Vigan before and I must say that it really is a nice place plus a lot of places to visit. I just love this article, makes me want to on a tour too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True! Kahit pagod at bangag na, laban pa din sa galaan. Hahaha ~Manju

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I could use such a travel tour right now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go for it! ~Manju

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We're the same sis. I am afraid going somewhere that I am alone. I'm really scared and nervous all the time especially because there are a lot of news I've watched about kidnapping.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You just have to believe in yourself and travel with extra care. You can do it, sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you for this motivation sis. I will try sis. I will do my best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago