Don't Talk to Strangers

0 23

Hey guys, it me again. Yourgirlnana, whose been missing in action for a quite a while. Just kinda having an existential crisis as they say. Anyway, based on the title of this article for today, I'm gonna be putting it as a diary entry. Just gotta let some feelings out. And share something that I think would be a great help to others, especially women.

Long post ahead.


February 4, 2022

Woke up earlier than usual for today, to get to our barangay, to get a "Certificate of Indigency" as a school requirement for a scholarship grant at one of our local state college.

So I got quickly dressed to be heading out as early as possible, only to be asked an errand to shop for ingredients in our local marketplace for our mini fishball business.

And I did the errands first, and finished them as quickyly as possible. Then went to our Barangay which is like two rides away.

Luckily, it was just a couple of minutes to get the certificate. But I had to get the Kapitan's signature to make it valid. And so I went there, which is another ride again.

Good thing though, Kapitan was at his house, in his front yard, talking to some people. So I waited outside, because I wasn't planning to be rude and interrupt. But of his workers noticed me, and got the thought that I needed his signature, so he got my papers and handed it to him.

Of course, I was so happy to finally get them signed. So I kindly bowed my head and thanks to Kapitan. And went home to get something before I return my partner's house.

I THOUGHT THIS WAS MY HAPPIEST DAY

UNTIL

I got into this tricycle which was gonna head back to city proper after getting his passenger off. Didn't know it was gonna a decision I was about to regret.


When I was the only passenger left, that's where things start to get weird.

He started staring at me like crazy and asked a couple of questions like:

"Do you work here?" "No"

"Do you still go to school?" "Yes"

"What year?" "College"

Honestly I thought, these were just random questions. And I didn't mind at first, because I enjoy talking to tricycle drivers because sometimes they give good life advices.

But somehow, this felt a little off.


And out of nowhere, he said that I was actually "Beautiful". And for someone, who doesn't get those praises often, I got caught off guard.

But I know, he's hitting on me. So I told him that I already have a kid. Thinking that would stop him.

But no. 🤦


"Where's your boyfriend?" "He's at home, that's where I'm heading."

"How old are you?" "21"

"My name is John. What's your Name?" "Liz, you have the same name as my kid."

"You have a phone number?" "I don't memorise my number"

"You have Facebook?" "Yeah, but I don't use it often"

Lol, he bought it, even though I was on my phone reading messages on my messenger, trying to keep myself busy. And to be honest, it felt like forever. Because he kept slowing down and taking turns that are either taking the trip farther, or a road where not a lot of trikes pass by.

I was lucky this happened in broad daylight. But I still was trembling, because he keeps staring at me. Which is extremely uncomfortable.

So when I arrived at my partner's place. I handed him my fare. Quickly got my change then, run my way into the alley straight to my partner's house.

Told them what happened as a joke, thinking that it could be erased from my memory through that. But when I got home, that's where my tears fell. The tears, I was holding the entire time.

And now I can't sleep because the scene keeps playing in my head. 😭

And to make matters worst, today was supposed to be our montsary. But I lost track of the date because this traumatic event. 😔


I wrote this down, first to tell somebody. And secondly, to caution all women out there. That this happens, even in broad daylight. Even if you're wearing the most comfortable clothes, like "baggy jogger pants with a shirt".

I was extremely that this happened in broad daylight, otherwise something really would've happened to me.

And for anyone who comes at me, saying you could've just ignored his questions for him to stop, I know that was my fault. But I didn't wanna be rude. And I really thought it was harmless. Until the questions kept coming.

To which I hoped you all could learn from my mistake.

Just remember the Golden Rule that we get taught as kids, "Don't Talk to Strangers", trust me, not all strangers are kind.

LEAD IMAGE

2
$ 0.16
$ 0.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @dziefem
Sponsors of YourGirlNana
empty
empty
empty

Comments