Uncomplicated lifestyle

0 16
Avatar for Yokzy
Written by
2 years ago

I don't know if the lifestyle that I follow today is a minimalist lifestyle or is it still the same as the lifestyle I used to live in. However, it seems that a lot has changed. In the past, I was in the category of a wasteful person. Likes to buy and collect things that I think are actually a waste.

For example, I like to buy shoes even though there are still a lot of shoes on the shelves and they are still worth wearing. Likes to buy clothes that have the same fate as shoes. Bought a new one but the one you used is the same again. While the new one is still neatly perched on the hanger plus the price tag is still hanging.

Buy a wasted perfume. I really like perfume because I like it smells good. Often tempted by the seduction of SPG-SPG perfumes who offer new perfumes at low prices when walking in the mall. For example, the price of perfumes for Hugo Boss, Tere Hermes, Kenzo, Issey, Gucci and other brands.

However, the beautiful SPGs gave really tempting prices. The item is really original and brand new. Without realizing the amount of perfume in the house piled up to tens. So many made special perfume cabinets. Likewise with books, glasses, hats, glasses, bags, and many other things that eventually become residents of the closet.

There used to be pride and satisfaction in being able to own these items. But, since the last few years, really, I feel like I have too much of these things. Moreover, the items used are only that and that again. While others become cupboard decorations.

In fact, items that have been purchased but have not been used often change hands when relatives or friends come to the house. Unbeknownst to me these items had disappeared from their place taken.

Until finally, I started to clean myself also clean the house. Start sorting out which items should be donated and which ones stay in place. The clothes in the closet are sorted (t-shirts, shirts, pants) and then donated to relatives.

Or sometimes donated to the orphanage. Clothes that are still fit for use are donated to people in need. Even though I have actually done the ritual of donating goods since I was a bachelor. But this time more sorting again.

After the piled up items were evacuated, there was a sense of comfort to see the house that felt relieved. Closets are not overcrowded anymore. There are only a few perfumes that are indeed a favorite and are often used. Likewise with shoes and glasses. The bookshelves that previously filled the entire wall of the room slowly began to dwindle. Only a few selected books still remain in position.

Is this what is called a minimalist lifestyle? I also do not know. What is clear, maybe because of age, the desire to have something that decreases. Because, in fact, if we can understand the meaning of needs and desires, then we can be free from an extravagant lifestyle.

For example, we want a bag but actually we don't need it because we still have some bags that are still worth using. Likewise with other items. So, how minimalist is your lifestyle?

3
$ 0.71
$ 0.71 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Yokzy
Written by
2 years ago

Comments