Ordinary Magic's review - #RRchallenge (1/48)

0 35
Avatar for Ykretz
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Reading, Youtube, Journey, Movie, Review, ...

Was it bad ?

Not really

Was it great

I could not say that neither..

I thought it would be terrible. The movie is from 1993 and the second Ryan's movie will be in 1997. Having a long time between two movies can show that it was not good enough to have him in any other movie.

And after watching it, my opinion is not different but not totally the same.

If it was a tv movie, it would be really great ! But it's pretty average for a cinema movie.

I don't want to tell you the synopsis now because as a viewer you will need 40 minutes to understand the plot. It's way too long to present the characters and to my mind, not interesting enough. Most of the dialogs are forgettable and useless.

Before saying anything else, the movie is on youtube :

That's where I saw it, in 360p and without subtitles (I'm French). I understood most of it but I may have missed some details or subtleties.


Jeffrey lived all his life in India with his father. When he dies he had to come back in canada and live with his aunt Charlotte. He does not know the north America's usages and feels a little confused at beginning but after some time he makes his place here.
When the things started to seem easier a big real estate company want to buy the house to replace it with a big building. Jeffrey and his Aunt don't want to leave and will fight peacefully to keep their shelter.


As I said before, it takes 40 minutes before understanding that their house will be destroyed to make a building. Before that I thought the movie was totally about another topic. For me all of that was mostly about immigration because there is a big part about that.

We can see Jeffrey having flashbacks all along the movie, flashbacks from his life in India. He was the only white kid, and it didn't seemed to be a problem, him and his father was looking to be totally integrated in the community, way more than his first day in Canada.

When he's in Canada, he's a stranger. He doesn't feel home, don't do the same sport, don't eat the same food, don't wear the same clothes than the other kids. He is totally different. And I'm sure the movie wants to show how easier it is to get integrated in a rich country when you are white.

I know people saying that Muslim Arabs don't want to become real French because they don't eat pork. But they have no problem about being french if me, white, don't eat it because I'm vegan, even if I'm not eating the french cheese, deli and I don't even eat that much bread and never in baguette ! But if a black immigrant don't eat baguette, he's like spitting on that country hosting him.

There is a great food scene where Charlotte and Jeffrey are having their first meal together. Jeffrey doesn't want of the turkey because he's vegetarian, eat with his hands and burp. Charlotte is patient and tell him how to do in their country and he does it. Later in the movie, Jeffrey makes a surprise to Charlotte, he cooks what seem to be a hot curry. It's too hot for her and she takes rice with her fingers and eat it before burping.

That's really pleasant to see this, he's not only coming in Canada and replacing his birth culture with this new one. He has enough place for both of them and so does she ! They are both having a mix of Canadian-Indian culture.


To avoid the house to be destroyed, Jeffrey has the idea to make a hunger strike under their porch.

Days after days, it's working and people are joining them as much as the company which want them out start to test illegal ways to put them out. This whole story takes end when all the friends Jeffrey made help him and there's nobody left to support the company.

That's the problem of the movie

I took more time to explain you how they eat than the rest of the story. Most of the characters are forgettable. I watched it yesterday and I even needed to open Wikipedia to remember the name of the characters and if you take almost 2 hours of your time to watch it, you'll don't see much more than what I told you.


During the movie there are two types of music, some Indian music I think, I don't have a lot to say about it, not my kind of music, but when it was not oriental that was more strange. It made me feel like I as in a bad old sitcom. But sad.

I don't know how to explain that better but the music is too present in the movie and I think it's often almost off topic.

Join me on Noise.cash and read.cash and earn BHC for your posts and comments. Stake your earnings on Nexo and earn up to 8% APY in dividends.

Join me also on Publish0x
The website that rewards both readers and authors with ETH and ERC-20 tokens

Share your unused bandwidth and get paid for that with Honey gain


3
$ 3.74
$ 3.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Ykretz
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Reading, Youtube, Journey, Movie, Review, ...

Comments