Life as a Last-born

15 171
Avatar for Yinye_xo
2 years ago

Heyy guys, thanks for the love on my last article... Hope you enjoy this too❀️

Growing up, we had lots of rules at home. A million, if you may ask me.
As a family of seven(mum and dad included), chores were evenly distributed.

When I was a lot younger, I really enjoyed being the last born. Everyone called me the baby of the house. They still call me that till this day πŸ˜‚. Anyways, I never took part in any of the chores. All I had to do was wake-up, eat, play and sleep. Those were the best years of my life.

As I grew older, I started washing my underwear and socks. The joy in my heart knew no bounds. I'd wash a pair of socks for a whole hourπŸ˜‚.
By the time, I got to my last year in primary school, I had already started washing my school uniforms.

I regret the day I offered to do the dishes. On that very afternoon, my older sister was really tired. She had just finished cooking our lunch. I had asked on several occasions to be allowed to do the dishes but always got a "no". I wanted to do it so badly that day but I was so sure that she'd not give in.
I guess she was really tired, because she finally succumbed.

I ran to the kitchen like a lion ready to devour his prey. I washed the plates like my life depended on it. When I was done, I was so happy. It was written all over my face. My sister was really impressed. She kept saying, "You tried ooh".

So from time to time, she'd allow me to do the dishes. Each time, I'd do it with do much joy and eagerness. At a time, I got tired of it but by then, it was already too late. It had become an assigned duty. That was when I realized that it was all a trick.

Parents always have a soft spot for last borns. My siblings took advantage of this.

I remember when my brother was still in secondary school. He didn't have a phone at the time while most of his classmates did. On several occasions, he'd say to me, "Onyi, please go and meet daddy and tell him to get me a new phone. And when he buys it, I'll always allow to play games on it. I promise. But don't tell him that I was the one that sent you ooh"

After summoning courage, I'd walk up to my dad and deliver the message. It was always so obvious that I was sent by my older brother.

Finally he got his new phone. One day, I walked up to my brother while he was using his phone and told him that I wanted to play games on it. His reply was so painful.
He said, " Can't you see that I'm using it. So you expect me to leave the stuff I'm doing and give you my phone".

Then I replied, "If I had not kept on disturbing daddy, would you have this phone" . Then I walked away.

Thinking back now, I guess it was wrong of me to make such a request while he was using it. But a child will always be a child πŸ˜‚

You know that saying " Once bitten, twice shy". That was not the case for me because that was not the only time I was played.

This time around, it was my immediate older brother. He broke a rule in the house and my dad found out. My dad did not know the person that did it. My brother came to me begging. He told me be to take the blame and added that he would give me 20 naira.

I know what you're thinking right now πŸ˜‚

20 NAIRA????

Honestly, I can't believe I accepted that stupid offerπŸ˜‚

Anyways, I took the blame and my dad scolded me. Normally, I'd cry when I'm admonished but I didn't because I knew I wasn't the one that did it. Later on, I went to my brother asking for my "pain fee".

I couldn't believe my ears. He told me that he did not have any money. At that point I didn't know what to do. I couldn't go to report to my dad, because he'd be really disappointed in me. I cried that day and swore never to take the blame for anyone's action.

These are memories I'll never forgetπŸ˜‚.
So tell me if you're the last born in your family and how you've coped as one.

I hope you enjoyed this article.

Love @Yinye_xo

August 24, 2021 15:00

17
$ 0.23
$ 0.09 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Greatwolfman
+ 2
Sponsors of Yinye_xo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yinye_xo
2 years ago

Comments

There's only two of us, and I'm the older. Since before I keep on saying to my mom that I want an older brother instead of another younger siblings, but I know it can't happened :D Just want to feel and experience being a last born. Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

AwwnπŸ˜©πŸ’—... I wish we could switch

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had a really good laugh, I can't relate from the last born view, but my little sister can, Dad was always giving her money, #500 or more, small girl, so we would offer her 2 money for 1, she knew 2 was more than 1, if only she knew #500 was greater than 2 #10 note

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is unacceptable πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ’”... You did her dirtyπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

On several occasions, he'd say to me, "Onyi, please go and meet daddy and tell him to get me a new phone. And when he buys it, I'll always allow to play games on it. I promise. But don't tell him that I was the one that sent you ooh"

I just laughed after reading this part. I did this with my young sibling. Whenever I or we needed, he does the asking and complaining. He is the house favourite and most of his requests are fulfilled

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Y'all have to stop this πŸ˜‚...it's unfairπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last born always gets the job done. They are good at it, why take that from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guyyyyyyyyyyyyy πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Being the last born for seven years, I understand perfectly. The slogan, "Oma first" in everything still rings loudly in my head. Very beautiful and interesting story you've got here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you πŸ˜‚β€οΈ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Onye πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you've spoken my mind. Though I'm not the last born but i passed through all these. My siblings cheated me countless times and i promise not to fall victim again. A big lie πŸ˜‚

Also i also started doing the chores that same way. My younger brother is the artificial last born. I'm the normal last born

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know God has a reason for making me the last bornπŸ˜‚.. because if it was the other way round, they'll sufferπŸ˜‚πŸ’”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚the first part of this article had me laughing hard . You were so eager to do chores when you were younger now look at you πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.. and as for the last part well what can I say we all have to grow at some point what your brother did is what every older brother would do in this time and age I won’t lie Nice one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I regret it soo badπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚... I guessπŸ˜‚.. thank you ❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can imagine πŸ˜‚ it's all part of the process.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I went through a lot πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago