Its Friday! Its Munggo Day 🙊

28 86
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Good afternion Readcasher 😉 Its been 3 days since I have been inactive here for the reason that I will tell you on my next article if I had a chance to write hehe. For now I am going to share our lunch for today.

Yey! Its Friday and its a tradition here in Philippines that people usually cooks Munggo on Fridays. I dont know what's the reason behind that because I have heard many stories about that but I dont know whos story is true.

Did you know why Filipinos prepared Munggo during Fridays?

So I prepared Munggo for our lunch. It is simple to cook and the ingredients is also affordable.

You need to boil the Munggo Beans until it is soft enough and set it aside.

Cut onions, garlic and tomatoes. It's depends on you when you want to add tomatoes because some people dont want tomatoes on Munggo.

Sautee the three ingredients and add the boiled Munggo beans.

Seasoned it with salt or fish sauce and let it simmer. Add the chicharon and moringa leaves and wait until the moringa leaves is cooked.

Here's the finish product. A simpe dish of a simple family in the province 💞 It is best serve with fried fish but we dont have that now 😅 We have here is Adobo. A weird combination hehe.

HAPPY LUNCH TIME HERE IN THE PHILIPPINES :)

MOMMY YEN 💞

8
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I tried it.... the taste is too yummy. Thank you for sharing the receipe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's also a Munggo beans in Bangladesh? What do you call this dish on Bangladesh?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ohh you guys cook it the lazy way? Here we sautee it first then by the time we add the meat, we also add the munggo so that it boils with seasonings

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can also do it in that way. But here since there's no meat ( only chicharon) . We do it that way hehe. But when we have meat we add the meat and munggo beans together.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Mom doesn't buy chicharon enough because she says they're all fake 😢😢😢 but i also like the chicharon but i don't nix it in the munggo, i eat it as is 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How she can say its fake? hehe. I personally love chicharon as add ups in monggo hehe, my mom want smoked fish or pork but I said just add chicharon because our lunch yesterday was pork but its also good when you add buto buto and add a baby tamarind leaves for sour taste

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Because it doesn't have those meat parts, she counts those as fake 😂😂 and when they're not crunchy anymore. Ahh tinapa with munggo is so good >w< but never tried it with tamarind leaves. I don't like sour stuff, hurts my head ;;-;;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I get it na. Those chicharon who doesn't have meat parts hehe. Its yummy. Not as sour as sinigang, its a bit sour lang haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yeah, i don't know if those really are fake though but it's still good to me UwU now I'm curious on what that tastes like. I don't see tamarind trees in my area anymore, they chopped the last one down

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its not fake. It is still chicharon haha. There's a chicharon with lots of meat but for me I dont like it. Nauumay ako 😄

But did you know that it's edible? We called it usbong ng sampalok o mura.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

It's so good thoughh :"" lalo na yung mga galing bulacan and lagro ❤❤ always so freshly made there

Nope 😅 i don't know what tree leaves are edible or not

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bulacan Chicharon is the best haha and specifically I love Bikoys Chicharon haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I dunno bikoy's, what part of bulacan is that made from?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Diko alam e haha. Basta nilalako lang yun sa bus kapag uuwi kami ng Nueva hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Aww i only get bulacan chicjaron pag nauwi blockmates ko sa bulacan so i only grt to have that then :"" please send chicharon ;-; i crave all of a sudden 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love munggo, too. 😍 Minsan dahon ng ampalaya po ang ginagamit namin na gulay, hihi. Masarap din ang malunggay. 😉

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, ampalaya leaves is also in munggo but we only have moringa hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

We both have ampalaya leaves here and malunggay. Hihi.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mungbean soup is one of the Filipino dishes I'm good at. Most people who eats my mungbean soup always ends up admiring it but it's ironic because I never liked gulay na munggo. I only eat the soup along with the chicharon and other vegies but I don't like the beans itself 😅

Anyways, that's a really weird combination. Mungo ang chicken adobo 😂 I prefer adobong natural (pork) along with mungbean soup 😋

P.S I just found out right now that it's a Filipino tradition to cook munggo on fridays haha thanks to you and RC.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes hahaha. You can search it on Google. I dont know that exact reason but I already search it in Google and theres many reason there why Filipinos cooked Munggo during fridays hehe. I dont have much time to research that's why I didnt include it here. I am hoping that someone commented here about that tradition hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I see. I'm a Filipino but I don't know much about the traditions haha. But I'll do a research on that topic too because I'm curious right now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your cooking look very yummmee.. Dear try to visite my airticle ❤ https://read.cash/@Jannatul/you-can-see-beauty-of-nature-everywhere-353474db

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will. Thanks for dropping by.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Dear try to subscribe me. I post photography Article i hope you will like it. I want to learn how a food recipe article write from you i hope you will help me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will check your article now :) Im hoping that my article help you to learn new recipe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I'm trying to write some article about cooking. I hope your article help me lot. And dear i hope you will subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am looking forward for your cooking article. I will subscribe you to get notified

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yes! Munggo for the win

$ 0.00
3 years ago