Craving satisfied. Homemade Tonkatsu by yours truly.

14 35
Avatar for Yen
Written by
1 year ago

It's been a week since I am reall craving for some Tonkatsu. You know why I am craving? It's because of the trending restaurant named Yabu who served different types of Tonkatsu. I know don't why it is trending but I watch several videos about it and one thing I have noticed it that they have a traditional way on mixing the sauce. Maybe people are curious about it that's why they wan to try it also. One thing that I also like about watching is thier shredded cabbage that looks like so fresh and it's unlimited even the fruits and rice.

I really want to try it by sadly there's no branch here near in our province. I also check the price of thier Tonkatsu and thier prices is range is 400 pesos to 800 or 900 pesos. It's depends on the grams that you want like if you want 100 or 120 grams, something like that.

Yesterday I watch a video again and I said to myself that I will cook for tomorrow which is today that's why I asked my husband to go in the market and buy some pork. I am thinking about what part of the pork I will buy because Tonkatsu has no fat like it's all meat. Then I just decided to buy some pork chop and just removed the fat part but I will also cook it separately.

Marinate the pork . Actually marinating is not required as based on what I watched they only put some salt and pepper to the pork and then coat it already but for me I want to marinate it with fish sauce, calamansi juice and pepper. As you can see there's a slice on the meat , I slice it so that it will marinate well.

Next is the breading. We need a breading mix , breadcrumbs and eggs. I also use all purpose flour to mix in the breading mix because the breading mix is too salty.

While coating the pork , prepared a pan and preheat the oil so that it will be ready once the pork is coated already. In coating procedure you just need to dredge the pork in the flour mixture then in the egg mixture and lastly in the breadcrumbs. It is your choice if you want a double coat but for me it's a single coat.

This is the pork that are already coated. It's is now ready to fry. You need to fry it with low fire so that the pork will be well cook.

If you see that the pork is golden brown already you can put it in a container with tissue so that the excess oil will be removed.

Tonkatsu sauce.

In making Tonkatsu sauce we just need an oyster sauce , ketchup , spy sauce , pepper, brown sugar, slurry and water.

Mixed the said ingredients together aside from slurry and taste if it's already fine and then cook it until it boils. Once it boils you can add the slurry and you can now serve it.

Plating time.

I want to make a shredded cabbage as a side dish but I don't have time to buy a cabbage that's why I already plated the Tonkatsu with rice and a garlic bits on top.

I am not really satisfied with my plating but I already put the sauce and I don't want to make a new one again.

At some point I am satisfied with my cravings even if there's no shredded cabbage.

May paganire pa e HAHAHAHA.

7
$ 7.71
$ 7.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Bloghound
+ 2
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Kagutooom para din syang porkchop na walang taba part pero ang nagpapasarap talaga dito yung sauce❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pork chop talaga sya tinanggal ko lang taba hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

UwU, ang sarap nyan madamssss. Pinatakam mo akooo, yarn wala oa naman akong mahahanapan nyan dito huehue. Tas tamad pa sko mag cook haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Luto ka nalang madams

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Kakatamad madams saka feeking ko mas mapapalaki gastos. Alam mo naman ako full force ang kakuriputan haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

200 pesos lang hehe kesa bumili sa labas

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Chef yarn? hehe Ako din ang daming cravings pero walang pambili hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Eme eme Lang haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Hi, Chef!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatakam tingnan sis ,mukhang super sherep.Wow! Ang galing ha ,ako din daming kong cravings ngayon kaso diet ,este wala palang pera🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kulang nga ng cabbage. Mas masarap Sana hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Ang galing naman magluto miss yen. Gusto ko ma try yan. Sarap naman. Nakakagutom nung nakita ko yung pic na luto na tas may sauce super sarap. 🤤

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May branch sila sa SM Megamall , Manila kanaba?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Oo miss yen. Nung nakaraang araw galing pumunta kami Megamall miss yen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago