Campus Politics

8 29
Avatar for YDKleke
2 years ago

When I gained admission into the University, I didn't know politics would be one of the major things on campus. I was in for a surprise.

In my university politics is life, in every department, faculty and hall of residence. Most people aspire to hold a major position in the University. They see it as a way of attaining an high social level and see it as a stepping stone to political positions outside school. A large number of politicians in my country started their political careers right from the University.

It started in the first semester but grew worse in the second semester especially towards the end of the session. What I noticed was that the associations that conducted their elections in the first half of the session were more civilized, composed and rational in their approach towards students.

A large number of them had only one candidate going for a particular position. This was relatively easy for the electorate because they had decided among themselves who would go for each position. This made voting easier as the student could decide if he approved of the person or not. The elections were also carried out online and the results were quickly released.

It is worthy of mention that there was no post-election crises. I couldn't say the same about the second semester elections particularly the student body elections.

This election was particularly full of drama as both candidates going for the position of president were dragging themselves on the floors of social media. This was really disheartening as this wasn't how an election was supposed to go. There was a lot of drama before and after the election among the student body, candidates and even the school authorities.

There were some allegations that the school raised the requirements of certain positions so that some candidates could not contest. Also that the school had a preferred candidate for the position of president.

Surprisingly, when the results were released there was no controversy or drama surrounding the results which in turn means that there was no election violence.

The most annoying election of all was the one by the faculty of arts. They didn't allow anybody rest because of their election, going from hall to hall campaigning and constituting a nuisance to the the campus. I personally can't wait for their election to be over so that I and other students can finally have peace of mind.

Faculty of Arts and doing the most at everything.

This are just my personal thoughts and not that of anybody. I am just an observer. Hopefully as time goes on elections on campus will be conducted in a saner manner.

Sponsors of YDKleke
empty
empty
empty

My awesome sponsors

Till next time

7
$ 1.30
$ 1.00 from @McRonald
$ 0.10 from @HappyBoy
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 3
Avatar for YDKleke
2 years ago

Comments

That how elections are in every university across the country. My school election is only limited to faculty and department, there is no student union.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow seriously. Why is that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also this they can change the system also, I've never been there but I hope when I get there I wouldn't be dragging with positions too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the spirit

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I wish our school can have student union, I also want to be involve in school politics cos it helps and can be dangerous at the same time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be helpful at times but also dangerous for the people occupying the positions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never really got involved in any form of politics. Please accept the BeSupportive bonus of $1.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much sir. You have really been supportive

$ 0.00
2 years ago