"She talks, I listen"

15 37
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

Those days of lockdown, moderate and new normal was never boring to me. I diverted my attention to some other things like gardening, and more attention in our little home. I even find my kids enjoyed it because they don't need to worry about going to school anymore. tsk. tsk. kids😅.

About my husband, his travel from his workplace was limited as it is required by the local government in his location.

The visible changes I noticed here aside from the limited people who go out in public places was the high cost of the fare in our jeepneys that take us to the central market.

One more thing, If before, during the lockdown, harvests of our vegetable farmers were being dumped along the road and everyone is free to pick them up because the farmers can't deliver it to the neighboring towns because of the lockdown, this time, vegetable vendors are facing problems on how to dispose of their vegetables when everyone has their own harvest.

Of all the things I noticed with changes, there is a specific thing that I like most. It's about my eldest daughter. She is most active in her Christian formation since then. Since we are not very strict in socializing because we don't have any case unless from the outside the perimeter travelers who came back to their hometown and found out to be positive, there's nothing we have to worry about.

She goes out with her fellow youth older than her. She's the youngest among them. She enjoyed reaching out to an inaccessible townlet how many kilometers away from our own village with her "sisters". She never gets tired of walking from the main highway to the very center of the location they are heading and helps in visiting children that need lots of attention.

When she came home, I can feel her enthusiasm as she chats about their activities during their stay in the other village. She even showed me their photos and videos together with the kids. She talks as if she gained maturity the way she talks about the innocence of the children, their intelligence, naughtiness, and most especially their hidden talents she discovered.

I felt her sadness when she mentioned the portion of her journey when they need to bid farewell to the children they used to share the company with. She felt importance by the hugs and sobs of the youngsters telling her to come and visit them again.

By listening to her stories, I think I didn't make the wrong decision in allowing her to be free in a manner of giving her all the warnings her heart and mind can carry.

One of her challenges, as she is having difficulty in training kids to use their pencils and colors with their right hands because she is a left-hander fella.😁 So according to her, she looks for youngsters, those who are one of her kind.

I included an attachment, 2 of her photos with the kids. I find it cute and I told her, "you did a good job!"

11
$ 1.20
$ 1.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Alther
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

She's doing an incredible job at helping even in her age. Hope she continues to do so because she doesn't know how greatly these small acts would lead to a domino effect of better kids

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes... I find it helpful as I am observing her because even her modular class started, she accomplished it as early as possible to have time in their youth reach out without shoving her to do it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now that's some serious dedication to her newfound passion, really. You have a really kind daughter. You did good raising her UwU

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But honestly, I was worried before because this kid is so naughty and unattentive in school during her elementary years. She's my eldest, meaning she was an instrument of adjustments from single teenhood to sudden married life with no experiences at all. I'm thinking what would become of her when she grows up but I'm glad she grows well in God's grace.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

this is what I have missed during my teen years. I envy others my age who came home from their outreach, summer camps, winter camps, kids camps, youth camps and other church programs because of our too strict fudra.. which I told myself not to do it with my kids because I feel today half of me is not complete..

I love it when Im seeing their pictures on fb..it feels good really.. told you they have other passion than sports.. we only need to guide them even more, and not hold them by the neck

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, sis. Though her father sometimes doesn't agree to it because our daughter go out constantly, I explained the importance of letting a child be exposed an early age so that she won't feel lacking during her childhood. But it doesn't mean that we are allowing her to go out all the time.This is better than going out with gangsters or any out of school youths that gives no good example to my child. I feel you po.. I only joined girl scout in elementary in our school ground. I Never experienced being away from them more than 24 hours🤣.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As they say, parents do not own their children. They are sent from God above for parents to take care of them. So it means to let the children explore their endeavors and discover things according to their choices and eventually learn from those. ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree, we are not their owner, we are just their guardians and caretaker. We are only to guide them so that they will not take the wrong direction but sometimes they choose the opposite, that is the time they learn their mistakes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. Experience is the best teacher and lesson ☺

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. Sometimes we need to let our children to be frer to express themselves and also discovered new things alone. I imagined your kid telling stories to you. How cute hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

True sis, I give her freedom especially when it's about the purpose of learning to feel the real passion in performing valuable missions to grow into a better person.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah kids can do good too if you give them the chance, it's nice for you to let her express herself

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's the first time I saw her enjoy the things she really loves to do and it worth her time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article ......

$ 0.00
3 years ago