My New Babies

20 40
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

Sometimes, we need to be creative and resourceful so that in times of emergency we will not get unaccustomed to sudden change. Crisis awareness and preparedness are important so that in every crisis that may come, we will be able to survive the difficult situation.

Though this seems nothing important, I still want to share it with you fellow readcashers.
One day when I was on my way to retrieve my childrens' module, I passed by an old neighbour who happened to transfer their location near the highway a few meters away from the National Highschool where two of my children were enrolled. Every time I passed by their house, she always invites me to have a chat. She is one of my old neighbour with which I can go along with. She is approximately 10 years older or more than me but she treats me nicely even she is not one of our townmate. She also has good thinking in which I can tell her my secrets and so she does. She can criticize me like a daughter and I accept it openly. Unfortunately, her husband was diagnosed with diabetes that made his foot amputated. He was aid maintenance in town which makes his presence necessary every day in the site. After the amputation, they needed to transfer to his brother's house alongside the road for his comfort in easily transport from house to work.

Since their transfer of location, we weren't able to talk often. So every Friday or Monday when I submit and retrieve my kids' modules I was always halted by her when I passed by their house. After our chat, she offered me to survey her backyard and looked for something to harvest. May it be leafy vegetables or hanging eggplants or a vegetable pear (sayote).

Then, I noticed an unusual plant soaked in a small basin of water. I asked my friend what it was, she asked me if I wanted some strawberry runners. She bought them for 60pesos each. I said yes, I took 6 of the runners since I have a companion that time and she also wanted it so to leave some to the owner which I only get 6 little seedlings and brought them home. I had to pay the runners I took in instalment through a microfinance centre which we are both members. We compulsory pay savings and insurance every week. Since I bring no money at that moment, that is the solution I thought I am going to pay for the runners.

So back to my plant, I was so excited to plant it. As I am on my way back home I am already imagining where would I place it, what pots should I use and where would I get the appropriate soil for my baby strawberries.

The momentย  I stepped inside our humble home, I took our nonfunctioning electric kettle and removed its lid since I can't use it anymore. I also have cemented pot which I made out of the experiment and plastic paint containers in which my husband brought home because I requested him to bring home some empty paint containers for my plants in which he obeyed. It was supposedly intended for my spring onions but this time my onions can wait.

I collected some rice hulls nearby in our local mill house. I choose the decomposed ones because if I am to use dry ones, the chicken would scratch them and may damage my new plants.

Day after day I watched my newly planted strawberries grow and I am so excited to see them bear fruits. Sadly, a strong rain damaged one of the plants. I forgot that the place in which I put the pots are under the galvanized roof of our pigpen in which during a downpour, the water will fall to the plant since the roof has no gutter.
I console myself that it can be replaced as soon as the other strawberries produce runners, I will replant more. I learned different names of strawberries and I am planning to collect all of them. According to the owner of my plants, I had King Berry and the Runners, there is still others and I want to find out which one suits best to grow in our locality.

I am like a child who has a new toy and a new playmate. You may think it's nothing to get excited about and its, not a big thing but in case you do not know, I love plants. And I think, I will forever be. My emotions grow with every plant I grow. I become sad whenever my plants are damage. For me, my plants are also my families.

When I was younger, I remember I used to make plots in our backyard and would plant different kinds of local vegetables in which later we were able to harvest and will be served as our viand. I am amazed watching newly sprouted leaves from its seed no matter what kind it is.

I learned that you should remove old leaves from the plant to produce more fruits, I search on the internet and Youtube the proper way of taking care of strawberries. It should be left with few leaves only so that the plant will concentrate on producing fruits than growing leaves. Five leaves every plant will do. Checking it from time to time also for insects that stick to the leaves is a must because it can damage the plant and its flower that will become fruits. The strawberries are sensitive to insects as they will bore the leaves and creates holes in them including their fruits.

It took me a month when I observed a flower from my plant. This is my very first time growing my strawberry so I was so excited. Another week passed and see how it looks now...

This is the first fruit from my strawberry plants. I waited for it to bear fruits before I was able to make an article about it. It is still unripe.

I will be waiting for these plant to produce runners, that way I will not be buying runners for 60 PHP or more than $1 per piece/runner. I want to have my own for my family consumption. We'll never know I will be selling strawberry runners someday.

I have 10 more strawberry runners available for pick up according to my old neighbour. I will get it or ask my son to get it for me and will add more to my collections. Five pots are not enough for my family and me.๐Ÿ˜…

Thank you for reading ๐Ÿ˜Š

>Xzeon<

Add ons: links for BCH faucets

https://goldenprice.in/account/create?r=104364

https://bitcoinaliens.com/?ref=3000519&game=7&pf=2

https://konstantinova.net/bitcoincash/?r=bitcoincash:prxx6c4f2zhps3yacr2nc0fz5gh4wxrmevd7dclsfn

7
$ 9.41
$ 9.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Jihan
+ 3
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Ay woow nman at meron k..madaling dumami ung runners nya pag mejo malaki2 na ung mother plant. I was looking for strawberry runners before pro wla aq mahanap.. nung my nagtitinda nman below landbank, wala n nman aq pambili. my mother used to grow them when we're in Eyeb but when we were transferring to campo santo those mapagsamantalang neighborhood took them in a glimpse even those gabi that are ready to be harvested

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lets wait for the runners...you can order from aunt Malou if you want. I tried looking in lazada and its more expensive plus the shipping fee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ipon muna aketch ng pambili.. buti at meron xa.. just tell her na reserve ng pra sa akin๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never seen strawberry plants before but that's so prettyy!!! tell me what they taste like when you get to harvest from your runners OwO

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow naman saan oo ba kayo at ang saya naman at may napapabuhay kayong strawberry malamig siguro sa inyo at gusto ko din sanang magkaroon ng ganyan kung may mabibilhan lamang dito kasi ang mahal din naman ng strawberry di kor in afford bumili minsan, at least kayo po nasa bahay niyo na mismo at habang tumataga nakaka exite din talaga Pag ganyan.

$ 0.02
3 years ago

Mountain Province kami.. Oo medyo malamig dito. Kaya nag thathrive ang strawberries...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ait kaya po pala Maswerte kayo kasi di na kailangan pang bumili kasi nga may kamahalan din naman iyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Binili ko lang ito para may mother plant ako. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda din po iyan na kapag napadame niyo yan maari na din kayong magbenta ng seedlings at fruits niya!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know that feeling of pleasure for plants. I congratulate you on your cultivation and look forward to seeing your progress with your plants. It is lovely to see how we plant, reproduce and harvest.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you! That's right. It is like inventing something with success when you see them bloom and reproduce.. ๐Ÿ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed they are babies. I am trying to grow a flower plant and each of the flowers seems baby to me. My 1st 3 babies got eaten by goat๐Ÿ˜‘๐Ÿ˜‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh no! ๐Ÿคญ Poor babies. ๐Ÿ˜ Try to grow again. Tell the goats babies can't be eaten. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are 11 flowers now. I am growing tem again and this time I have put fenches around it๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats better.. I need to barricade my spring onions too because lots of chickens are flying everywhere that seems all chickens here are ours. ๐Ÿ™„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are really bothersome๐Ÿ˜‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are indeed. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tutubo b yan kaht mainit panahon?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tutubo siya kaya lang kelangan always hydrated kasi madaling matuyo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago