Dead-end

27 28
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

The Basement

Dare or Not

kugg, kugg.! .. Goes the hammer. I'm testing it over the surface of the wall. Surprisingly it gave a slight crack in the concrete wall in just a single blow. I made up my mind after a few minutes of deep thoughts. It's now or never. Blag!... I strike again. The cracks get wider this time making a widespread of the web from the previous crack I just made. I was more motivated to exert more pressure this time. I hit the wall again. The web gets wider and wider making a cracking sound. Then later some debris fell after a few more blow. It was followed by other larger pieces. Aย  rusty thing was visible after I cleaned the debris. It appears to me that it was indeed an iron door! A rush of excitement suddenly flowed in my blood after witnessing the secret door that appeared in my dream that is in front of me now. ..ย  So, it is real!

I quickly looked for an opening of the iron door I just discovered. The rust is just so thick that maybe the moist inside or the cold temperature made it thicker that it took me hours to find the appropriate tools to clean the sides of the door until I was able to break the main lock.

I made deep a sigh before I gave an intense kick. I worked thrice before the door gave up and as it laid on the stairway, an unexpected cold air meet my body. It was so very cold that It felt like a block of bucket ice flushed over my body. It seems like a balloon of cold air burst in front of me. I dragged the iron door out to give me the way inside that entrance. I can't see the inside part of the room. So I looked for our emergency flashlight before I planned to check inside. I collected all my guts before I slowly went down stepping from the stairway leading to the basement. From time to time stopping and gulping some confidence. Cobwebs are everywhere making it eerier. My eyes are slowly moving from side to side as I observed and check out my surroundings. It ended in a wide-spaced room. It doesn't look creepy than I thought and it doesn't look like what I saw in my dream. I can figure out that it was a good place once. Types of furniture are well arranged that if this would be cleaned up, it will be a nice room if only cobwebs are not all over the place. The presence of rodents is visible, yes, and other crawling living things. Their waste mixed the smell of humidity in this room. But all in all this room was a nice one once. Pile of different kinds of stuff are in the corner of the room but no more. I didn't find anything that feeds my curiosity. I opened the cabinets, there was nothing except for old stuff. There are even antiques in here. Why is it locked and seems forgotten? I found an old album in a pile of stuff. Based on the pictures, it was a family album. I was intrigued and stared at a boys' image. Maybe he's the one bothering me, I thought. He was beside a young girl maybe 3 years old. I flipped the pictures thinking I may find clues about the names in the picture. I found one. "Mom, Dad, Jimmy and Betty during my Betty's birthday dated April 26, 1986." The caption at the bank stated. So the boy is Jimmy.

I keep looking. The answers to my nightmares. My dream led me here so I must find the answers to my questions in here. However, I stayed long enough and didn't find anything. I already checked every corner even I'm shaking inside. But wait, what am I looking anyway? There was nothing in here. The picture doesn't help. I already felt dismayed. I want to end this nightmare as soon as possible or else it will make me insane. I was about to leave with a heavy heart when I heard mutterings in my ears. Seems a lot of people are talking to each other and they are uttering my name. "Dan, ... get me out of here... Dan... Dan..get me out of here" it's freakingly irritating my ears that I made a loud yell... "Hell, what do you want! Just leave me alone.! The door' is open just get out of here!... then stillness. I was breathing fast because of the pour in my emotion. Long silence... I almost gave up when there's something that caught my attention... It was a door I didn't notice lately. It is adjacent to a cabinet facing against the entryway and the centre of the room so it's not that visible. Only if you are near you can see it. It may serve as a space for cleaning tools. I slowly approached it quickly with no more exhibitions. I can feel it now. My name is getting cold. I broke the padlock attached to the door.

As I hold the knob and pulled it, something embraced me that I jumped backwards out of control. A skeleton! it fell in the floor. Seems the same height as me. oh! goodness! not just one but three! all are tied by the hands and feet so with their mouth and was surprisingly fitted the small space or they were put there in purpose despite the limited space. No! they are four!ย  there is a small figure of the skeleton below the tall one's!

I fell to my knees and felt something gripped my heart. Images are playing in my mind, tortures, cries, beatings, blood! I didn't notice I was sobbing. Hell! even though I have the heart of a man I can't stand looking at this.Especially the child! What kind of animal has done this terrible thing! I imagined my younger sister being tortured and locked into this room and just die... it hurts the inside part of me.

"Dan! what the-...hey what's this?", I can hear the commotion outside. My family arrived from wherever they went. " Dan! are you there!" I heard dad getting near but I have no strength to respond. I was still sobbing looking at the little creature and the rest.

"Oh my Goodness!", mom was gaping with her hands in her mouth as she saw what's in front of me." The next thing I vaguely remember was being led by my dad out from the basement after dialling in his phone.

๐Ÿ’ฎ๐Ÿ’ฎ๐Ÿ’ฎ
I was watering our lawn when I heard my little sister talking to someone. She found a new playmate in our neighbourhood. That's good, as she won't bother me anymore. Yesterday was a dream. Polices came and the next is a pastor from mom's acquaintance. We held a small ceremony before the removal of the remains from the basement. I remain speechless when an officer interviewed me. I don't want to share my experience anymore. I don't think they will believe me anyway.

Today, it was surprisingly felt new. I became more alive than before.ย  Mom and Dad may be worried but I assured them I'm ok. They apologized for not believing in me. Well, I can't blame them.

I approached my sister which is near a bush that I was about to water. "Excuse me, Daisy, will you transfer with your friend to the other side so you don't get wet."

"Sure brother!", she left and waved to her playmate. I think I scared her playmate away because I don't see anyone following her.

But I was shocked when I saw my sisters' next action.

My sister waived." Bye-bye, Betty!"

THE END

5
$ 0.04
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
$ 0.02 from @Ruffa
Sponsors of Xzeon
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Xzeon
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Very interesting article!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The sister has a third eye too :"" that was a surprisingly calmer ending than whag i hoped you'd do for this story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes... I want to make it more shocking or something but my mind doesn't cooperate. But i really want the "G's" become more friendly in here. I hope it ends well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It seems like it is unless you want to continue this with them jot being able to rest in peace still? They could still want revenge in the end

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmm. I will just let them rest. I will try some other time... Step by step.. I'm not that really good you know. So i will add more actions in every story i make.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's why this practice of yours and a few good comments can really help you out wity the other stories you'll be writing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right, so when ever I interact I learn, whenever I read others post I learned from it. This adds spices to my brain.๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup soon you'll be getting descriptions down and i can't wait til you get betterbat writing :"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for that. Ayeeh.. ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Who's the culprit behind this, they killed them little by little. There are four of them I imagine them being suffocated to death. Maybe the killer is just a member of their family, or ano nga kaya ๐Ÿค”. Maganda talaga yong mga ganitong kwento ee, yong pagiisipan ka sa mga posibleng mangyari.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah you can have your own plot... What's in my mind is they were being murdered by a distant relative they were adopted in their house but later he was lured with bad vices and led him to murder the people who was being good to him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Betty was friendly though. Jimmy made an aggressive move to be at peace. I wonder what was the reason why four of them were killed and placed in that small cabinet. Just thinking about my claustrophobia makes me sweat so much more.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Perhaps they were a former owner of the house.Another member of a distant family assasinated them. There are lots of probabilities.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah right. That was a tragic story but at least, they are all in peace now. You're good at making stories huh. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, just trying... I can't find any topic to post so i am making stories when i have time.. THANKS anyway...โค๏ธ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the cremonia didn't work because Betty's spirit was still there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She's now leaving in peace after the offered prayer. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

ah ok, she didn't do it at the time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes... A bit late to leave maybe... A child thought to stay but she has been called ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The good thing is that they all left.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, they did.๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The whole family was in there? So bad. Sometimes realtors will know that there is bad history to a house and still not tell the new owners. Thank God everyone finally saw it and believed him, but maybe when he told the spirits to get out, he actually released them into the real world. That's why his sister could see Betty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Betty is already her sisters' friend right after they settled in that new house. He just doesn't notice because he was focusing on his problem... But after the prayer offered they all left including Betty that's why she now bade goodbye to her mortal playmate.๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, now I get. His sister was experiencing hers as well but she took it on a lighter note. Now the souls can depart in peace.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. You got it... Maybe her innocence brought her no fear. Perhaps Dan could have befriended the Jimmy as well if not his fear overwhelmed him at the beginning.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. Being a child does come with a few benefits here

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah yeah.... ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago