Who needs a screen balance?

4 17
Avatar for Winx1988
3 years ago

Children are having fun online especially during lockdown when they can't get outside to play. Playing games to the point that it becomes an addiction. It is happening with my family every day, I have struggled with my son who spends long hours playing games online.

Às a parent I was worried about them, so I've come to think of what actions I need to do. There are a lot of indications that a child became addicted to online gaming.

1.They talk about the game all the time even when they are not having their gadgets. Even if the topic is different they always try to relate with their games.

2.They don't play outside the house, I didn't saw them running around the house, no longer socializing with other kids.

3.They lose their appetite with eating, during the time for breakfast or lunch if they are called there is a point that they get angry and say that, I'll just finish the game."

4.They developed a behavior problem like getting mad when they can't play due to a loss of internet connection and block out.

5.Spending more hours in gaming from morning till evening.

6.They begin to lose interest in their studies. Procrastinating to answer their modules.

7.Don't quit or even rest from what they do.

I find it hard to deal with this matter but there is a need to intervene in the situation just to minimize their exposure to gadgets to prevent health risks, like headaches and other signs of severity.

Online gaming addiction is a serious matter which affects health, the relationship between the kids and their parents. There is a need to have a digital detox, as a form of intervening in this situation.

Prevention

  • Set time limits for play

This is usually what I'm doing, it can be done by talking properly with the kids to let them understand the situation.

  • Go for a walk with the kids, or jogging early in the morning

  • Make time to create activities together.

At least if they are playing there is a need for exercise so that they will have strong immunity. This will lower the health risk of sitting and playing for a long period.

Kids don't have control of their own, all they want is to have some fun. Addiction to online games can separate them from the real world like socializing with other kids. It will affect their well-being and their happiness relies on their gadgets.

Parents have the role to deal with this matter, that's why I wrote this article.to create awareness for all of us. Seriously, it's my everyday struggle at home, I don't act like a terrible mother. So I tried to correct them in a pleasant way to prevent a gap in our relationship.

These online games do not happen only with kids, also with adults. I have known a couple in our neighborhood who quarreled every day because her husband have no time for the family, they broke their cellphone and separated. We should be aware of our time for engaging online, make sure that we will not compromise our relationship with the family. Children's learned from their parents that's why we should be aware and give attention to kids.

Thanks for reading.

God bless us all.💚💚💚

2
$ 0.15
$ 0.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
3 years ago

Comments

Wonderful ideas! My son is addicted to screentime as well. While I have only seen agitation from him when it's time to do other activities like studies, it is a concern. It's also hard for him because of his Autism, so when he sees me on my laptop working, he does not understand why he can't be on his as well, games or not. I do allow him to use his tv for youtube videos because he views videos that are educational such as teaching songs for keyboard or guitar.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh really, you know what, your such an amazing mother you have ADHD and your son have Autism,I admire you on how you manage your life with that matter.kids really look upon their parents everytime, every actions we make.God bless you always and your son.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. There are days I do struggle with my ADHD, however. Just as my sin struggles with his Autism, but we try every day! :-)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I pray that you can do better for your son.

$ 0.00
3 years ago