Let's talk about,growing old

4 26
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago

How many children do you have?Or did you planned to have more kids?When I was a kid we used to play in our hands and we will count on how many kids we can have when we get married.

I knew some family who have 12 siblings and 13,and we are 4 siblings while I'm having 2 kids already.Having a more or less kids is a happy family indeed,especially when the family is complete and gathered together.

When my grandmother was still alive,she always told me that even if she has a lot of kids ,she is still left alone.And she really living in her house with nobody else.I see her emptiness and the longing to be with her children but everyone has its own family to take care of.

There is another woman who came into our house last week ,and we talk to each other,until we talk about her children,and she said,"even if she has two kids but she's left alone.Her children was going abroad,with their family for work purposes ,they don't even have grandchildren.She seems so lonely again.

I've come to think,will I be left alone in my own home?That's so hard to imagine by this time,while I'm enjoying my families companionship and time for each other.But if it will happen ,there's gonna be something that I need to look forward to.

That is a fact that,our children will grow old and they can have their own life to follow ,a family to established and a new journey of their life with their special one,I'm just be happy now,while we were together,and they are young.Oftentimes mom's will become a nagger at home,but sooner or later we will miss all those days that we were with them.When I was a kid my parents scolded me for doing things which they don't like,but now that I'm married too,I understand why did parents are like that.

Nothing on earth takes forever,like our time spending with our children,and parents.As much as possible we should cherished every moment that we had with them,there's no playback that we can request on heaven.

I still remember my grandmother who died last October,when she died it didn't sink in to my mind instantly ,but now that I didn't see her anymore,I always remember how did she smile and talk to me.She is a loner woman,who choose to live alone in her small home.

She felt rejected when she's alive that is why, I cannot imagine myself to live like her.

The most important part I think,is to live each day with our family with love and care,understanding with each other,as long as we were alive.

My parents were both alive,and it's my chance to make them feel how valuable they are for me.As much as possible they should not be left alone.

Today,while we were strong and can do the things that we want,but when we get old,and are unable to work and fixed our things on the kitchen,bed,and even with ourselves.

The fact,that an old aged person needs someone to take care for them,is one thing that my grandmother have refused to accept,she always insist that she still can do her laundries,wash her dishes and get firewood uphill.

But few days before she died,she finally declare,that she has no enough strength already,and that she is soon to rest.I think she felt that she's already weak and unable,and that's the time that she stop doing her daily routine,because she's not feeling better.

As we always heard that,"Age is just a number",what is this means for me?I think,a person will grow old,our physical attributes will change like wrinkles,and blurred eyesight,and slow to moved but our mind still thinking that we are not yet old.I have a friend who is 72 years old woman,and she said that",our body will grow old but not our mind".And she's still very active and doing her daily routine.

Growing old is already a good prize,if we can have a white hair and wrinkles that symbolizes the time of our existence ,it's just like a crown pin our head.With this world full of changes and problems,growing old is a good journey to achieve,because we knew how fragile life is ,nowadays.

Growing old is a legacy,the values and teachings that we can left behind with our children and the rest of the family is a great treasure.

According to some jokes,"sabi ng lolo ko,sabi ng lola ko,(according to my grandmother,grandfather).The young people will quote so e words of wisdom from their old family members.Their words are full of wisdom and learning,because of their wide experiences and the lessoned they learned in life.

When I become old I want to live in a farm,where I can plant a lot of vegetables and fruits around my house,and grow chickens,which Im gonna feed early in the morning.I want my house to have a bamboo fence with a yellow bell flower growing around it.

I want to aquire a lot of books,like poetry,novel,and story books for my grandchildren,and when I'm old aged,I will no longer be able to browse my cellphone,and it will not be good for me with more exposure to radiation that's why I will prefer to have a lot of books and read it in the balcony with fresh air and a cup of tea.

Even if growing for me is something I feared of,but it's alright,we are all equal in this matter.And it's a good experience I think,and I believe that our existence doesn't end here ,there's is still life beyond this life which I always hope for.

As of now,I will enjoy being young and share my happiness and love to my family and friends so that,someday they will remember me as a good friend ,mother and daughter.

More than material things to invest or gather,I also want to mature mentally,emotionally so that I can live this life truly.

What do you think about growing old?

Thanks my fellows writers and readers,and my generous sponsors.

https://unsplash.com/photos/CeZypKDceQclead image source

5
$ 2.40
$ 2.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.03 from @Marinov
+ 3
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago

Comments

As for now, I can't really say how my future looks like because I'm still focused on the present but if I do, it's something I'm afraid of too. Just the thought of my parents getting older pains me. 🥺

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We are all have fears about the future,especially when the world changes,for me,we will just do our best ,and give our best love in the present,and in the future we will reap what we sow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Older adults are at increased risk for loneliness and social isolation because they are more likely to face factors such as living alone, the loss of family or friends, chronic illness, and hearing loss. Loneliness is the feeling of being alone, regardless of the amount of social contact

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Older adults indeed feel that way nowadays,especially when they are not allowed to go out because of the covid,but as a part of the family,we should always support them,moral support really matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago