How much do you know the history of your country?/My quiz bee experience

15 24
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago
Topics: Random thoughts

Have you experience joining quiz bee in your elementary of high school days?I have come up to this topic while I'm watching The Pbb(Pinoy Big brother) quiz bee on you tube ,it's on #19 trending online. It's a very good task that they do because it helps us to be reminded about some important things about of the Philippine history.

As I watched it,I was laughing because even in myself I don't know the answers of some questions that is being asked by the host.Some netizens have said that the youth today are just good with kdrama and talking about korean idols and tiktok while they already forget the Philippine History,they are knocking the Deped(Department of Education )to open the schools.As I have observed my children,they don't even know the names of the Philippine National Heroes,National flower,animals and other great heroes of the history.

Was it really important to know our history?

As a Filipino citizen ,it really matters as a sign of patriotism (or love for our country ). Personally,this lessons cannot be learned at home,especially when the parents are also not aware about it.We should value the history of our country,because this is what we should do ,to love our native land.This is where we lived and and raised and born,so where ever country that you belong,you can show your patriotism through knowing the history of your country .

Back to the housemate of PBB,a lot of viewers are bashing also because some of them really don't know about Philippine history,and others knows very well.

For me,we should not mocked people ,let's just be open minded ,considering that some of them are raised in foreign countries And also,this pandemic makes the youth out of school,and they are not able to learned it at home,especially if they are not told to do so.

Honestly,I don't have a lot of knowledge about history,about the nicknames of heroes,background and other historical spot,and also with "Noli me Tangere and El Filibusterismo ",content,I just heard it but I don't know what was it all about,but today I was thinking to read it.We don't tackled that book before,but our teacher told us that it was written by Dr.Jose Rizal.So,if I would have been there at the PBB quiz bee,I just make the group lose the battle,hehe. There are some facts about our country that amazed me when I heard from tv,and I would love to hear more of it.

For for my fellow Filipinos ,did you have a knowledge about Philippine history?For non -filipino,how much do you know about the history of your country?

Now to my topic which is my quiz bee experience.

When I was in elementary ,there was a quiz bee every year especially during nutrition month our teachers have initiate it.I was in grade 6 when I joined it,because I'm on the top 10 students.As a very young age, I don't really like to joined contests because I was a very shy girl before.

My teacher gave me a reviewer which is a hand written compiled bond papers and had a lots of possible questions on quiz bee.I have studied it for a week before the contest,and I have learned that my teachers daughter who is grade 5 student is the one who wrote it.

On the day of the contest,I saw that majority of the contestants are top 1 student.And I feel shaky and my hands are wet because I'm nervous already.There was a 3 category,the easily ,moderate,and difficult questions,those who got 3 mistakes in every round will be out of the contest.

One thing I observed that the daughter of my teacher is joining too,and she's a smart girl as well.During the last part,I and my teacher's daughter are left on the chair.So,we are both to answer difficult questions.

And this is the question;

What do you call the food that have a potential to cause cancer ?

And I raised my hands first,and the emcee called me to answer,I stand up and said,"carcinogagen".The crowd laughed so loud,especially the teachers,at the back of my mind,I was asking why?I'm clueless of what is happening,and my opponent also smiled at me,and the emcee said that I was wrong.And I'm asking why,I'm right because I studied my reviewer for how many nights.My teacher raised her hand and give me a sign to sit.And the other girl stand up and answer in front of the microphone,and said"carcinogenic"and everyone is giving her a hand of applause.

I was like a melted candle and I stand and walk outside,I feel so ashamed because I thought I was really right.

When I got home,I checked my reviewer and read it again, to be honest my teachers daughter had a bad hand written ,hehe because she's the one who writes her mom's reviewer.The letter of carcinogenic was not really written very well,and I read it as carcinogagen instead of carcinogenic.Honestly,I was blaming that handwritten reviewer that my teacher gave me,I should've won that quiz bee because I'm the first one who raised my hand.

Until now,I can't forget that word,and I think in my whole life because I was embarrassed in front of the crowd because of it.

When I go back to school after nutrition day,my classmates told me that,I supposed to win the contest,and they said"Sayang".There was a cash prize during the contest,if I was not mistaken it's $1,or 50 pesos,which is already a big amount during year 2000.

It's a few days for me to get over from that experience,but when I saw that reviewer I feel bad about it.Anyway,that is a memorable experience, as of today,maybe it's not gonna happened because informations are clear and available online,unlike before.

My writing today is kind of on the rushed because it took so long to come up a topic.I was having my turmeric brew and bread while writing this.

Thanks for the visit my dear friends,your comments below really matters to me.

Have a nice day.

Lead image from UNSPLASH

7
$ 1.13
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @BCH_LOVER
+ 1
Sponsors of Winx1988
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Winx1988
2 years ago
Topics: Random thoughts

Comments

Heheh dapat talaga maganda yung penmanship para naman mabasa ng pagbibigyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah,oo nga,importante din talaga,kahit hindi masyadong maganda basta nagbabasa ng maayos.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat talaga pagnagbigay ng reviewer ay maganda or maayos ang pagkakagawa para dika malito hehehe,natuwa naman ako d2 sa kwento mo sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's was tough experiences, when you are really boosted and confident that your answer is correct and end up wrong due to the reason that it was mispellled. But as to the case of the PBB's i think they are just too immature about that certain history, Dr. Jose Rizal is known to every Filipinos, especially in School. But yeah, it's their losses not ours. It's their lessons as well

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I also learned that I should've asked my adviser about that word,but I just did a self study,she didn't give me any review.Thats a memorable experience for me. The teens have become the topic on social media,they are criticize that they are just good with tiktok and kdrama.I just hope this teens will also learned those things.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Na curious ko ani nga episode sa PBB sis, ako ni Tan awon karon...Kasayang ato sis, ikaw jud unta ang makadaog kung tarong pa ang pagkasulat sa answer. Ngano man sad anak sa teacher ang gipasulat, diba dapat teacher jud mismo ang magbuhat para sure na mabasahan ang question ug answer...Nakatry ko ug math and science quiz bee, then nakatry Sab ko ug math and science challenge pero amo man jud maestra ang Mangunay ug sulat ug tudlo sa amoa kay para masiguro nga Mao ang answer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko moapil ug math quiz bee sis,science noon,kay hadlok jud kos numero,heheh,ambot pod tong teacher naMo oi,hilig magpasulat,pasulaton gane kog lesson plan sa una.Maglagot gud kog gamay,kay akong klasmet magsulat sa room tapos ako nasa office nag kopya ug lesson plan.Bitaw tan awa ug testing ,di ba nagkatawa pod ka,hehe,makalingaw nga makalearn pod,makarefresh as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makahinumdum ko sa among teacher sa grade four anang magpasulat ug lesson plan ba. Naa jud teacher tapulan magsulat no?..Akong gitan aw ang isa pa lang nga short video sis, nakatawa ko sa tubag nga SLEX ba, hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah,kataw anan kaayo,kato jong Gomburza sis,the funniest gyd to. Bitaw naa teacher sa una magpasulat ug lesson plan,pero kabalo ka namalit bitaw kog isa ka page,hehe tagbaw lage kog diskarte unsaon page erase ,di man gud pwede ge markahan na lang nakog "not included"then with big X.😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa ko kakita ana sis ah, ako na Tan awon karon..Hahaha mao? Aw ang teacher na bahala ato basta kay imong gibutangan ug dakong X. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's kinda quiet alarming kasi parang nakalimutan na ang ating history. I was disappointed watching that episode of PBB. Ako, I learned all those when I was in elementary. Kaya nakapagtataka kung bakit di nila alam yun. Masyado na kasing focus ang mga kabataan ngayon sa social media. I'm sure tinuturo yan sa school, pero nakakalimutan lang nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako naman alam ko na yon dati pero nakalimutan ko na,siguro kasi di naman nagagamit ang mga kaalaman natin sa ganyan,May mga questions din doon na di ko nasagot kasi nakalimutan ko,nakakarefresh din yong mha questions na yon sa akin. Sana talaga maging aware ang mga kabataan to know with some of our great heroes.Na busy masyado,sana they will learn from it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nag trending nga sa PBB sis pero honestly sis nagulat din ako kasi pati yung pinakamahabang bridge di nila alam. Yung sa dalawang babae. Gulat na gulat talaga ako sis kasi elementary pa yan na lesson.

Ng dahil pala sa handwritten sis kaya kailangan ayusin talaga din pagsulat sis nuh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think sis,kung hindi ba tinuro sa kanila to during modular class,or merong naman pero di masyadong binigyan ng pansin.Parang wala talaga silang kaalam alam. Yes sis,dahil sa cursive writing na di naintindihan.hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For sure tinuro sa kanila yan nung elementary sis. Elementary pa yan na lesson sis. Malaki na sila sis. Nadaanan na nila yung lesson na yan. Nasa book din yan sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago