A Day In The Laboratory

4 45
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago
Topics: Blogging, Studying

Last week, Thursday, I helped my cousin with his thesis study. He is a 6th year Veterinary Medicine Student and is conducting a study about Crabs. It's his final requirement for graduation.

As far as I can remember, his study is all about finding out if there are parasites in the crabs in different municipalities. There are I think 4 or 5 municipalities that are part of the study. The steps of finding out is via microscope and the crabs were needed to be dissected to get the specimen.

Actually, I had a class in the morning so I was present in the area, so I didn't go home first. My cousin then asked me to help him out. I had an online class that time but I didn't attend because I was lazy. Hahahaha. I was the one who was in charge of dissecting the crabs and my cousin was the one inspecting the specimens.

Here is the specimen under the microscope.

The whole process of dissecting and viewing in the microscope is tiresome. One crab takes me at least 5 minutes to dissect and put in different slides. I only dissected 7-8 crabs since my cousin had already started with the others a day before.

Here's me securing the specimen. I actually asked my cousin to take a photo of me that I sent to my friends.

Aside from the exhaustion, the smell is also so strong. It smells fishy in the entire room. The people passing by the room can even smell it.

It started raining in the middle of our work and it made us feel sleepy and really tired. At that time I just wanted to rest and lie down in bed.

Ice was used to kill the crabs.
Here are some of the slides that my cousin have/ had to inspect.

We worked for 4 hours non stop until we finished the first set of crabs. All I can say is that it is very tiring and exhausting. I even told my cousin that as if I was the one who is doing the study because my tiredness compared to his was 100/10.

I salute my cousin for his work and efforts in doing this study. We only did one municipality that day and it required 20 crab specimens. Can you just imagine the work behind his study? Oh gosh, I don't want to imagine it anymore. I will just feel so tired. Hahahaha.

I am always in support of my cousin, it's the least that I can give him. In fact, I was the one bringing crabs for him sometimes. We left the laboratory at 5:30 pm and headed to his dorm. I was going to have a sleepover there but it didn't push through since there are still buses that I can ride home. Plus, I didn't have anything to do there. It's more comfortable sleeping here.

If you can remember my noisecash post from last Thursday, it says that I had a fun day. It really was fun and it gave me hope for reaching my dreams. I wouldn't mind smelling fishy if it helps me get the drive to finish this degree. At this point, I was motivated to have an extra push.

That's all for today's blog. Thank you for reading! Have a great day ahead of you!

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty


Check out my previous blog:

2
$ 0.96
$ 0.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
1 year ago
Topics: Blogging, Studying

Comments

Ang hirap siguro ng kurso mo ano? Dati nung highschool ako ,yan yung gusto kung gawin yung magcheck sa microscope kahit anong maliit na insekto makikita namun sa paligid ay chineck namin sa microscope😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sabihin na nating tama ka. HAHAHAHAHA pero opo, mahirap po. 😂😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was really tiresome. I haven't used microscope since 7th grade. My course is far from yours though. I hope he will have a good result in his research. I love the small world through microscope.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omg same! The last time that I used the microscope was for an activity in Science subject at 7th grade. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago