What does Success really mean?

8 78
Avatar for WRTR
Written by
3 years ago

People oftentimes holds a very narrow definition of success. They think it's all about getting rich, having the perfect relationship, or having a billion dollar business. Most of the times,  they attach famous people to their image of success.

Those people weren't wrong. It's how they define success. In fact, if I was also personally asked what's the meaning of success, I would've answered the same.

But while writing this article, I have been wondering, Is success really all about wealth? Do someone needs to get rich to feel successful?

What does SUCCESS means to me?

Here's my take. Growing up, I always believe success is being able to achieved and accomplished all your goals in life. But one thing I've realized is that there is more to that. It is not just about that. What's the sense of having accomplished your goals if you are not happy? If what you've done isn't what you like? This is true nowadays, especially to newer generations. Some parents decide for their children's future without taking into considerations what their children really wants. I know some people who are like that, they are force to take a career path which they really don't like but they have to because their parents want them to. Yes, you may be super rich someday, you may be a doctor, an engineer, or a pilot someday, but would that make you happy?

We must set our goals, objectives and trajectories based on what we desire, not what someone else wants for us.

True success is being able to achieve something with happiness in our hearts. Success really isn't about getting rich, it is about getting to feel that genuine happiness, the feeling of fulfillment because you are doing what you love to do. If we fail to do what we love and pursue someone else's path, we may end frustrated and unhappy. That isn't success at all. Bruce Lee once said:

“Always be yourself, express yourself, have faith in yourself; do not go out and look for a successful personality and duplicate it.”

For me, the path of success begins with asking yourself, "What makes me happy?".

____________________________________________________

45
$ 0.39
$ 0.25 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Eirolfeam2
Avatar for WRTR
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I like the posts message and would like to add that, to achieve true success, we must develop networks that makes it easier and makes the journey more worthwhile

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me, being rich is not important but being stable, happy and contented because as long as you seek for unimaginable wealth, happiness(which is very important) can't be obtained.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The true meaning of success is you accomplished many failures and hard work in your life, and because of it you build a strong foundation that support you in any basis of your current and future life. And be yourself don't let anyone dictates your decisions making, feel proud of you in any life experience, always say " I can do it"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed happiness is the key to success. If we don't know what makes us happy, we will never be truly successful. I must admit, I was also the same. When I was in High school, I thought being successful was being able to accomplish all the things I have set for myself. I was always in a rush to achieve my goals, but it burned me out in the end. We should give ourselves some time. We need to walk our own pace. Sometimes the pressure from other people affects our happiness because they want us to achieve a lot of things. But we should indeed ask ourselves about what makes us truly happy. Thank you for this. :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Panalo na ba akoo? Hahaha char. Thank you din. Appreciated :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Success is feeling free from everything that makes yiu depressed, success could be achieved with behavior, money and hardwork... Being successful is mean that you are happy im your inner part of your heart.. Deep inside i mean.

Success is ,, to show the people who you are and what thay think about yiu and says yiu are af looser. Show them here i am, what i am. What i can do,,, ❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I support you plz you support me.plz don't spam me.plz help

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago