I've Tried My Hand at NFTs

4 33
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Over the past few days, I've put together a small collection of NFTs over at Opensea.io.

While there certainly is a lot of junky, unoriginal, thoughtless garbage and copycat-ing going on over there, there are also many cool NFT collectibles, utility tokens, gaming items, and ENS domains available.

I wanted to enshrine some cool memories via some surreal photography I've created on the Ethereum blockchain. I've even frozen the metadata for this first one via IPFS through Opensea's system, to ensure as much immutability as possible. I'm gonna have to study up on all of that more, to make sure I know exactly how and where the metadata is stored.

Truth be told, creating one was just something I wanted to do. I don't really expect to sell them that much, and the prices I set in ETH, well — it's going to take someone with deep pockets. People might tell me I am crazy. Oh, well. I don't really care about that too much.

I'm torn on the whole NFT craze, because on one hand I completely understand it, and on the other. Well, there's just so much shit, and there is clearly a bubble happening right now.

Plus, I don't know how absurdly empty and meaningless my life would have to be to purchase a literal blank white JPEG for hundreds of thousands of dollars just so I can say I have it (I'm not kidding, stuff like that is selling...but it could be shill bids I am seeing). In one sense, NFTs seem to me to symbolize the current vapidity, absurdity, and cheap meaningless-ness of modern culture (especially in the times of the "covid" psyop). In another, they speak to something very deep and almost spiritual, that is oft-overlooked in economics.

All value is subjective. And often the things we want money for, and pay money for, find the source of their value in a subjective valuation of the individual that is, in a very real way, priceless: the individual's assessment of quality.

Boy, oh boy. "Quality." So impossible to define, but we all know and recognize what it is on a gut level, I think.

Anyway, enough rambling for now. Without further ado, from Alternative Japan's collection of 4 NFTs, I present to you the centerpiece: "Snow Cone Fuji."


https://opensea.io/assets/0x495f947276749ce646f68ac8c248420045cb7b5e/51471592020624696015781809961353850161456480450312704261368101630923797168129/

Other NFTs:

-GWS





4
$ 8.37
$ 8.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JonicaBradley
Sponsors of VoluntaryJapan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Comments

Hahaha yes sometimes people did not understand what we're doing they think we're crazy but never mind them as long as we enjoy, Hi my friend good evening here my side

$ 0.00
User's avatar Amz
2 years ago

I want to get in on the NFT game. I'm a painter and mixed media artist as well as a writer. I have documented stages of paintings. I feel like they would make good blends. But I'm not really, yet, sure how to. How to create a collection. How to market, how to create templates. Etc.

When I am a little less stressed out and my brain can annoyed new information better, I will set to learning more.

I like your photos. Too bad I don't have deep pockets.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks. I just dove into the whole thing this week, so I am a newb still. If you dive in later and have questions, just lemme know. If I can be of any help I'd be happy to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will. I'm in the process of getting whitelisted. I've gone the WAX route because I can't afford Ethereum at the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago