Control by Confusion, Part 4

0 34
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Continued from Part 3

*******

Dr. Gites: David! It's great to see you. I think last time was way back at the beginning of all this mess.

David: That's right, doctor Gites. How's the clinic been handling the influx of patients?

Dr. Gites: Well, for a while things got busy — in the winter — then stabby came, and now it looks like our little town here did pretty well with the uptake rate and keeping restrictions. We may still even be able to host the state fair, is what I hear.

David: Ah, that'd be good. People could use a break from being locked in their houses all year.

Dr. Gites: Well, yes, definitely. But don't you spend most of your time in the house anyway, Dave? I mean, I don't mean to sound rude or anything. I just didn't think you were the type of guy who went out to things like the state fair.

David: Well I like to go out sometimes. And I certainly don't like someone telling me that I MUST stay home is what I mean. But yeah, I'm not the type of person to go out every day. Not outside my garden and the hiking trails at least. Still, there's a difference.

Dr. Gites: Difference with what?

David: There's a difference between just wanting to stay home and being told by some politician that if you leave your house you'll be fined.

Dr. Gites: Well. I hear you David. But it's like they say. We've got to think of the big good, and not just the small good... Shirley tells me you're having issues with your knee again.

David: Yeah, it's swollen. And I can't seem to get the swelling to go down no matter what I do — ice it, massage it. It's not like before when I came in after the race.

Dr. Gites: (Leaning in to have a look as David gingerly hikes up his left pant leg, wincing) Boy you weren't kidding, David. What'd you do?

David: I'm not sure. I was just running. Last week. Nothing unusual. Came home, watched TV for about an hour, and went to bed. Then I woke up at about two in the morning and it was like this... Actually worse. And it hurt extremely bad.

Dr. Gites: Has the pain improved at all since then, or gotten worse?

David: Improved a little, maybe. But not much.

Dr. Gites: You got a TV now, huh? Alright, David. I think we're going to need an X-ray. Before that though. Did you have any sort of reaction to stabby when you first got it?

David: No sir. I didn't take the... Stabby. Or whatever.

Dr. Gites: (trying to appear calm, but visibly shaken and uncomfortable) Oh. Why in heaven's name not?

David: Kenny has allergies. So I thought it might run in the family. He took one for flu a while back and had to be rushed from the clinic where he got it, straight to the Makson City ER. The doctor there said that kind of reaction is rare. But it might be genetic.

Dr. Gites: I see. Well... do me a favor David... and I don't do this because I think you are sick or anything. But please go ahead and put on these bracelets for the time being, since you couldn't get stabby. And I'll call one of the girls to get the X-ray room ready.

David: Sure doc. But you got stabby, right? So why would you need to be worried about me?

Dr. Gites: Well... It's just best to keep danger away. That's all, Dave.

(Gites exits the room. Leaving David seated in the doctor's office, hand on his knee.)

4
$ 5.72
$ 5.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @jasglaybam
Sponsors of VoluntaryJapan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Comments