Control by Confusion, Part 2

0 33
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Continued from Part 1

*******

David: Okay well, sheesh. I'm just going to pay Shirley here and then head home.

Dr. Gites: Here David. Take these. (The doctor extends two individually wrapped antivirus bracelets)

Shirley: I'm awfully sorry David. But this concerns everyone's health. And while I respect your lifestyle, sometimes we've got to consider the needs of other people as well. I'm sure this won't last too long. Once stabby is released we'll be right back to going about our daily lives as before.

David: Well I didn't mean any offense. I didn't even kno—

Dr. Gites: —Ignorance is forgivable, David. It's willing and knowing ignorance that shows someone doesn't care. You're all good. Why don't you finish up your business with Shirley here and you can head home.

David: Sure, Dr. Gites. Alright. I guess I'll buy a newspaper on the way home and try and get myself up to speed. Where did this new virus come from? China again?

Dr. Gites: Well the experts don't really know. Maybe from a species of bird native to that area, yes. But it could also be a leak from a lab. There were lots of bodies in the streets over there when all this madness kicked off.

David: Why are there no bodies here?

Dr. Gites: Oh, I'm not really sure. Our area has done a pretty good job of keeping the bracelets on and staying indoors, though. So that is likely why it hasn't been so bad. Businesses are going to restrict their hours now, and as we said, folks are going to be made to stay home. I would have thought your brother would have told you by now. What with his motorcycle business and all over in Makson county.

David: Oh. This is going to hit Makson, too? He hasn't called. But we almost never talk anyway after what happened.

(A dark, heavy silence falls on the waiting room, lit only by late afternoon sun filtering through cracks in the blinds)

Dr. Gites: I know, David. I'm sorry about that.

Shirley: This is a pandemic like we've never had before, honey. I hope you and your brother can reconnect. I have a feeling family is going to become more important than ever in all this.

David: Okay. Well thank you both. (David stands and fishes for his wallet in a tattered and weather-faded, light blue Walmart backpack) Here's the rest of that bill from last time, Shirley. I appreciate the both of you understanding. Thank you, Dr. Gites.

(Shirley receives the money with a concerned-looking smile and looks again at Dr. Gites)

Dr. Gites: Thank you, David. We'll see you again soon, hopefully. Stay safe.

5
$ 9.03
$ 8.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
Sponsors of VoluntaryJapan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for VoluntaryJapan
2 years ago

Comments